Mount Toubkal

Guided treks & climbs · Mount Toubkal, 4,167 m

Guided Toubkal climbs, compared

North Africa's highest peak is a long walk, not a technical climb. In summer it takes two days from Imlil with a night at the refuge. Moroccan guide agencies sell that ascent for €120–€295 a head. UK and global companies wrap it into 4–8 day trips for £427–£1,095 or US$449–US$1,135 before flights. Winter adds snow, crampons and an ice axe.

10companies compared, 28 programs
€130cheapest published price, per person
2–21 daystrip length
3,207 mRefuge du Toubkal (Neltner), the CAF hut where almost every ascent spends the night before the summit

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 28 ·
Trekking in MoroccoToubkal AscentImlil – Refuge – summit, from Marrakech · 2 days
2
€120–€160 (old listing, ask)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person by group size: €160 for 2–3, €145 for 4–7, €120 for 8–12. Includes Marrakech transfers, local mountain guide, mules, refuge or tent, all food and a cook. Excludes insurance, tips and drinks. The page is about 3½ years old.
Trekking in MoroccoToubkal Ascent CircleCircuit of the Toubkal massif with the summit · 3 days
3
€175–€215
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.€215 pp for 2–4 people, €195 for 5–8, €175 for 9–12. The trip page says it can't be done in winter because key sections are under snow, but an overview page says it runs all year.
Trekking in MoroccoToubkal Winter Ascent (2 days)Imlil – Refuge – summit · Dec–Apr price · 2 days
2
€130–€175
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.€175 pp for 2–3 people, falling to €130 for the largest groups. Runs December to April.
Trekking in MoroccoMount Toubkal Winter Ascent (3 days)Imlil – Refuge – summit · Dec–Apr price · 3 days
3
€150–€220
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.€220 pp for 2–3, €195 for 4–10, €150 for 13–20. Includes Marrakech transfers, an English-speaking guide, mules (porters in snow), refuge nights, food and a cook. Crampons and ice axe required.
Toubkal Guide2-Day Mount Toubkal TrekImlil – Refuge – summit, from Marrakech · 2 days
2
from €170
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Includes local guide, muleteers, cook and all meals. One night in the refuge (winter) or camping (summer), with minibus or 4x4 from Marrakech. The page does not say whether the price is per person or per group.
Toubkal Guide3 Days Jbel ToubkalImlil – Refuge – summit · 3 days
3
from €190
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Two nights at the refuge (winter) or camping (summer). Listing pages show 'from €220'.
Toubkal Guide3 Days Azzaden Valley & Toubkal ClimbAzzaden valley, then Toubkal · 3 days
3
from €190
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Listing pages show 'from €220'.
Toubkal Guide8 Days Mount Toubkal WinterAtlas valleys, refuge, winter summit · Winter price · 8 days
8
from €450
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Fully escorted by a local mountain guide, muleteers and cook. 2 nights in Marrakech, 3 in a guesthouse, 2 at the refuge. A category page shows 'from €500'.
Kasbah du ToubkalToubkal ascent (private)Imlil – Refuge – summit · Nov 2026–Oct 2027 price · 2 days
2
€295 pp (first two), €230 each extra
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Minimum 2 people. Fully inclusive of guide, cook, mules, muleteers, the overnight, food and drinks. Kasbah rooms are separate. The 2022 sheet had it at €240 for 2 days/1 night.
Kasbah du ToubkalTrekking in Style package with Toubkal ascentKasbah du Toubkal base, Toubkal ascent
—
€1,188 pp sharing; €2,028 single
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.5-night package that bundles the ascent with nights at the Kasbah.
Much Better AdventuresClimb Mount Toubkal in a WeekendImlil – Refuge – summit · Oct–Nov 2026 price
—
£427
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.3 nights. Departures 22–25 Oct, 23–26 Oct and 30 Oct–2 Nov 2026 at £427; mid-October dates are sold out. Runs May–October. Meals, accommodation and transfers included. Tips are not: MBA says budget at least 250 dirhams per person (published as '250 Dirham'). Extra nights £72 double/twin, £63 single.
Much Better AdventuresClimb Mount Toubkal (4167m) in a WeekCircular route with foothill acclimatisation · May–Oct 2027 price
—
£581
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.5 nights, including a Marrakech riad. Departures May–October 2027, all at £581. MBA converts its prices daily, so the GBP figure can move a little.
Much Better AdventuresClimb Mount Toubkal: The Winter EditionImlil – Refuge – summit in snow · Nov–Apr price
—
from £529
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.4 nights. The US page lists US$760 for November 2026 departures. Crampons, ice axe and sleeping bag included. Riad and refuge nights.
Exodus TravelsClimb Morocco's Mt ToubkalAtlas valleys, refuge, summit · 2027 price · 7 days
7
£843
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Excludes flights. Optional single supplement £65; deposit £300. 2028 dates are £896. Summer departures listed July 2027 to October 2028.
Exodus TravelsMt Toubkal Winter ClimbAtlas valleys, refuge, winter summit · 8 days
8
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.No current price found. Old listings show £849 excluding flights and £799 with flights. Crampons are included; Exodus says an ice axe and crampons are normally needed on every departure.
KE Adventure TravelUltimate Toubkal WeekendMarrakech – Imlil – Neltner Refuge – summit · 4 days
4
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.KE says the trip is not currently available to book and shows no price or dates.
KE Adventure TravelOne Week Mount Toubkal TrekAtlas valleys, refuge, summit · 8 days
8
US$1,135
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Without flights. An older page showed US$1,880 (adult) / US$1,735 (child).
KE Adventure TravelFamily Teenage Toubkal AscentFamily trek with a Toubkal summit · Jul–Aug 2027 price · 8 days
8
US$990
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Same price for adults and children. Deposit US$300. KE suggests about €400 per family of four for tips, drinks and souvenirs.
KE Adventure TravelMount Toubkal in WinterAtlas valleys, refuge, winter summit · 8 days
8
Not published, ask
Experience neededSome practice walking in crampons beforehand.KE says the trip is not currently available to book and shows no price or dates. Ice axe, crampons and helmet lent free if you request them when booking. Experience 'recommended, but not essential'.
KE Adventure Travel4000m Peaks of MoroccoAdrar n Dern, Ouanoukrim, Toubkal · 15 days
15
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.KE says the trip is not currently available to book and shows no price or dates. The Ouanoukrim ascent includes non-technical scrambling.
KE Adventure TravelAcross the High Atlas TrekM'Goun, Ouanoukrim, Toubkal traverse · 21 days
21
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.18 trekking days. KE says the trip is not currently available to book and shows no price or dates.
Intrepid TravelMount Toubkal TrekAtlas valleys, refuge, summit · Jul 2027 price · 7 days
7
£545
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Lowest price (11 Jul 2027) on the UK site. The US site shows from US$920, the Irish site €690.
Intrepid TravelMount Toubkal Winter TrekAtlas valleys, refuge, winter summit with crampons · Winter 2026–27 price · 7 days
7
£632 (29 Nov 2026, was £790); from £765 in 2027
Experience neededWinter hiking experience.Intrepid says it is for people with winter hiking experience. The US site shows from US$1,170–1,180.
G AdventuresClimb Mt ToubkalAtlas valleys, refuge, summit · 2026 price · 7 days
7
US$599 (sale; regular US$799)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Sale price, marked 25% off. Some September 2026 departures are US$679.
G AdventuresMount Toubkal Weekend TrekMarrakech – Imlil – refuge – summit · 2026 price · 4 days
4
US$449–US$499
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.The page gives a base fare of US$449 and 'from US$499' for the 30 Apr–3 May departure. G Adventures says to allow US$40–55 for meals not included.
Adventure PeaksMount Toubkal TrekAtlas valleys, refuge, summit · 2027 price · 8 days
8
£850
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.2027 departures £850 (older 'from £750'). Adventure Peaks warns flight prices are much higher at peak periods.
Adventure PeaksClimb Mount Toubkal in WinterGrade 1A winter ascent with crampons and ice axe · Jan–Mar 2027 price · 7 days
7
£895 land only; £1,195 with flight
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.2027 departures from 16 January to 5 March.
Jagged GlobeWinter Toubkal ClimbAtlas valleys, refuge, winter summit · Jan–Feb 2027 price
—
£1,095
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.From Marrakech, without flights; 8 nights; grade T1. Departures 16 Jan, 30 Jan and 13 Feb 2027, all £1,095. Deposit £160; single room £160.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 22, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices are in each company’s own currency; sorting by price uses rough exchange rates. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Mount Toubkal yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
South Cwm (Ikhibi Sud) via Imlil and the Toubkal Refuge (CAF/Neltner Hut)
Grade
Non-technical scree scramble (F)
How long
2 days (1 day to refuge, 1 day summit push)
Best season
Late April to October (winter ascents Nov–Mar require mountaineering gear)
Permits
No official permit needed; a licensed local mountain guide is strongly recommended and, in practice, used by nearly all climbers.
Start from
Imlil, 5,906 ft (1,800 m)
Climb from there
7,766 ft (2,367 m) of ascent over 9.9 mi one way
Getting there
Climbers drive roughly 1.5–2 hours from Marrakesh to Imlil (1,800 m), then trek via Sidi Chamharouch to the Toubkal Refuge (CAF/Neltner Hut, ~3,207 m) before the summit push. Nearest airport: Marrakesh Menara Airport (RAK).
Hazards
Loose scree, altitude, sudden weather changes; snow/ice through spring
Gear
Sturdy trekking boots and poles suffice in summer; crampons and ice axe are required for ascents between November and April.

A mapped way up: Voie normale Djebel Toubkal

Line from OpenStreetMap; profile approximate. Map and GPX download →

Sources: refugedutoubkal.com ↗home.nps.gov ↗eauxetforets.gov.ma ↗datazone.birdlife.org ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

If you only want the summit, book in Morocco. The 2-day Imlil ascent with guide, mules, cook and refuge night is €130–€175 a head in winter with Trekking in Morocco, from €170 with Toubkal Guide, and €295 for a private trip with the Kasbah du Toubkal. The UK companies' cheapest weekend is £427 at Much Better Adventures.

Much Better Adventures is the cheapest UK option on every format: £427 for the weekend, £529 for the winter ascent and £581 for the week. Exodus (£843 for 7 days) and Adventure Peaks (£850 for 8) cost about £250 more for a similar week.

For winter, check who supplies the ice axe. Much Better Adventures includes crampons and an axe. KE lends axe, crampons and helmet free, but its winter trip is not bookable right now. Exodus lists only crampons as included. Jagged Globe is the dearest winter trip at £1,095 without flights. Adventure Peaks costs £895 land only, and Intrepid has a 29 Nov 2026 departure at £632.

A one-week trip mostly buys acclimatisation, not a different route. Two-day trips go straight from Imlil to the refuge and the summit. The 7–8 day trips (Intrepid £545, G Adventures US$599 on sale, KE US$1,135) add walks through the valleys first, which makes summit day easier.

KE lists the only true multi-peak Atlas treks: 4000m Peaks of Morocco (15 days) and Across the High Atlas (21 days) add Ouanoukrim and M'Goun to Toubkal. Neither is bookable right now, and KE shows no price.

Tips and some meals are rarely included. Much Better Adventures says to budget at least 250 dirhams for tips, and G Adventures says to allow US$40–55 for meals not included on its weekend trek. Refuge beds cost €20–€30 a night if your operator doesn't include them.

The companies

Trekking in Morocco

Based
Imlil, Morocco
Programs
4
Private
Priced per person, falling with group size (for example 2-day ascent €160 pp for 2–3 people, €120 pp for 8–12).

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Trekking in Morocco ↗

Policy from: trekkinginmorocco.com, trekkinginmorocco.com, trekkinginmorocco.com, trekkinginmorocco.com

Toubkal Guide

Based
Imlil / Marrakech, Morocco
Programs
4

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Toubkal Guide ↗

Policy from: toubkalguide.com, toubkalguide.com, toubkalguide.com, toubkalguide.com

Kasbah du Toubkal

Based
Imlil, Morocco
Programs
2
Private
Private ascents only, minimum 2 people (guide and muleteer plus a mule): €295 pp for the first two, €230 for each extra trekker.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Kasbah du Toubkal ↗

Policy from: kasbahdutoubkal.com, kasbahdutoubkal.com, kasbahdutoubkal.com, kasbahdutoubkal.com

Much Better Adventures

Based
London, UK
Programs
3

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Much Better Adventures ↗

Policy from: muchbetteradventures.com, muchbetteradventures.com, muchbetteradventures.com, muchbetteradventures.com

Exodus Travels

Based
London, UK
Programs
2
Deposit
£300 on the long weekend and on the 7-day climb.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Exodus ↗

Policy from: exodus.co.uk, exodus.co.uk

KE Adventure Travel

Based
Keswick, UK
Programs
6
Deposit
US$275 on 4000m Peaks of Morocco; US$300 on the Family Teenage ascent.
Private
Free single supplement on 2026 winter departures.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit KE Adventure ↗

Policy from: keadventure.com, keadventure.com, keadventure.com, keadventure.com

Intrepid Travel

Based
Melbourne, Australia
Programs
2

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Intrepid ↗

Policy from: intrepidtravel.com, intrepidtravel.com, intrepidtravel.com

G Adventures

Based
Toronto, Canada
Programs
2

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit G Adventures ↗

Policy from: gadventures.com, gadventures.com

Adventure Peaks

Based
Ambleside, UK
Programs
2

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Adventure Peaks ↗

Policy from: adventurepeaks.com, adventurepeaks.com

Jagged Globe

Based
Sheffield, UK
Programs
1
Deposit
£160.
Private
Single room £160 extra; some dates carry a £65 pp extra-night supplement.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Jagged Globe ↗

Policy from: trek.jagged-globe.co.uk, jagged-globe.co.uk

Get an email when bookings open

Winter Toubkal dates (January–March) and the summer weekend departures fill early. Get an email when we see 2027 dates or price changes.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Imlil, Morocco. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Mount Toubkal on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources