Mount Washington

Guided climbs · Mount Washington, 6,288 ft

Guided winter Mount Washington climbs, compared

A winter day on Washington is 4,250 ft of climbing in some of the worst weather in North America, and the usual first step before Rainier. Here is every guided option we could find, from one-day Lion Head climbs to a night at the summit observatory.

4companies compared, 8 programs
$280cheapest published price, per person
1–2 daystrip length
4,250 ftgained on the Lion Head winter route, about 8 miles round trip

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 8 ·
Northeast MountaineeringMount Washington in WinterWinter Lion Head (others as conditions allow) · 1 day
1
Not published, ask
Experience neededNo prior experience required. You must be reasonably fit and able to hike all day.The same page shows two price tables: $375/$300/$275/$250 per person for 1/2/3/4 people, and $700/$550/$500/$450. Ask NEM which is current. Season is December–April; the day runs 8–10 hours. Bunkhouse beds are $45 per person.
Northeast MountaineeringSkills Course + Mt. WashingtonSkills day, then a summit attempt · 2 days
2
$280–$590 per person
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.$590 for 1 person, $390 each for 2, $320 each for 3, $280 each for 4. 1:4 guide ratio. Runs December–March.
Northeast MountaineeringMount Washington Observatory OvernightSummit climb plus a night at the Observatory · 2 days
2
$875
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.1:4 guide ratio; rated strenuous. The last listed date was December 28–29, 2025, so check for new dates.
Synnott Mountain GuidesMount Washington Winter ClimbLion Head, Tuckerman Ravine or Huntington Ravine · 1 day
1
Not published, ask
Experience neededNo prerequisites; previous winter hiking helps. About 8+ miles round trip and 4,250 ft of gain, with 4–5 hours of uphill travel carrying a sizable pack.Price is per person per day but not published (the page shows $0.00). Optional prep day the day before for an extra fee. Meets at the SMG office in Intervale at 7am. Winter conditions run October–April.
Synnott Mountain GuidesMt Washington Observatory TripSummit climb plus a night at the Observatory · 2 days
2
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Maximum group size 9 people plus guides.
Redline GuidingTwo Day Winter Mt WashingtonTraining day, then a Lion Head summit attempt · 2 days
2
$350–$650 per person
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.$650 solo, $425 each for 2, $400 each for 3, $350 each for 4+. A sunrise or sunset summit adds $100 to the total. Gear rental (Alpine Ready Pack) is extra.
Redline GuidingMWOBS Overnight AdventureSummit climb plus a night at the Observatory · 2 days
2
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Non-refundable inside 60 days.
International Mountain Climbing SchoolPresidential Range Traverse (winter)Winter Presidential Range traverse over Mount Washington
—
Not published, ask
Experience neededPrevious hiking and camping experience, basic crampon and ice axe use, reasonable fitness, or completion of an IMCS basic mountaineering program.Price includes boots, crampons, ice axe, technical gear, tents, stoves, fuel, food, and camping fees and permits. Bring your own sleeping bag and personal clothing.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 19, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Mount Washington yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
Tuckerman Ravine Trail
Grade
Strenuous day hike, Class 1-2
How long
6-9 hours round trip
Best season
June to October for hiking; year-round ascents are possible but winter requires full mountaineering gear and experience
Permits
No permit needed to hike; trailhead self-registration only. The Mount Washington Auto Road (toll road) and Cog Railway offer non-hiking access to the summit for a fee.
Start from
Tuckerman Ravine Trailhead, Pinkham Notch Visitor Center, 2,031 ft (619 m)
Climb from there
4,257 ft (1,298 m) of ascent over 4.1 mi one way
Getting there
Most hikers stage at the AMC's Pinkham Notch Visitor Center on Route 16, the trailhead for Tuckerman Ravine and Lion Head; the towns of Gorham and North Conway provide lodging and supplies nearby. Nearest airport: Portland International Jetport (PWM), Maine, approximately 1.5 hours away.
Hazards
Sudden, severe weather changes even in summer; icy headwall lingering into early summer; falls on wet rock
Gear
Sturdy hiking boots and multiple insulating layers are essential even in summer due to rapid weather shifts; winter ascents require crampons, ice axe, and avalanche awareness.

Tuckerman Ravine Trail

Line from OpenStreetMap; profile approximate. Map and GPX download →

Sources: newhampshireclimbing.com ↗mountwashington.org ↗goeast.ems.com ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

For a one-day guided summit, NEM and Synnott are the main open options. Neither requires prior experience, but expect 4,250 ft of gain and an 8–10 hour day.

Redline's two-day program ($350–$650 per person) gives you a training day before the summit attempt, the cheapest published way to get both. Its 50% deposit is non-refundable, and cancelling within 7 days forfeits everything.

NEM has the most buyer-friendly refund terms found: full refund up to 30 days out, credit up to 72 hours out.

The companies

Northeast Mountaineering

Based
Glen, NH
Programs
3
Refunds
New England programs: full refund up to 30 days before; NEM credit from 29 days to 72 hours before; no refund within 72 hours. If NEM cancels for weather or another unforeseen reason, you get NEM credit, not cash. Date changes are free up to 7 days before.
Private
Pricing is per person and drops with group size (1–4 people). For 5 or more, call for a rate.
Visit NEM ↗

Policy from: nemountaineering.com, nemountaineering.com, nemountaineering.com

Synnott Mountain Guides

Based
Intervale, NH
Programs
2
Deposit
25% of the trip cost (rates page).
Refunds
Rates page is self-contradictory. One section: cancel 30+ days before for a refund or credit valid 1 year; 7–29 days before for credit only; 6 days or fewer and the payment is forfeited. Another section: the deposit and all payments are non-refundable once the booking is confirmed, unless another client fills your spot. If SMG cancels for weather, you are rescheduled to a date of your choice.
Private
Book privately (1 person), as an existing group, or through 'Flexible Booking', where SMG tries to match you with other climbers. Custom mountaineering rates are $425/day for 1 person and $280 per person per day for 2.
Contact
603-722-0808
Visit Synnott ↗

Policy from: newhampshireclimbing.com, newhampshireclimbing.com, newhampshireclimbing.com, mountwashington.org

Redline Guiding

Programs
2
Deposit
50% of the order, non-refundable.
Refunds
Cancel within 7 days, or fail to show, and you lose the deposit and any balance paid. Cancel earlier and the deposit becomes credit for a future Redline activity. If Redline cancels for weather, the deposit becomes credit. If Redline cancels for reasons within its control, it gives a full refund.
Private
The two-day program can be made private at no extra charge.
Visit Redline ↗

Policy from: redlineguiding.com, redlineguiding.com

International Mountain Climbing School

Based
North Conway, NH
Programs
1

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit IMCS ↗

Policy from: ime-usa.com, ime-usa.com, mountwashington.org

Get an email when bookings open

Get an email when this winter's Observatory overnight dates go up. They sell out first.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Pinkham Notch, New Hampshire. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Mount Washington on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources