The Matterhorn above Zermatt, where the Haute Route ends

Guided ski tours · The Haute Route, 3,790 m

Guided Haute Route ski tours, compared

Every guided Chamonix–Zermatt ski traverse we could find from Chamonix, Zermatt, the UK and the US, plus the shorter Verbier and Arolla starts, the summer glacier treks and the prep courses sold for it. Headline prices hide very different inclusions: check huts, lifts and the ride back to Chamonix.

8companies compared, 26 programs
£275cheapest published price, per person
2–10 daystrip length
Mid-March to late Aprilwhen the 2027 guided ski departures run

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 26 ·
Compagnie des Guides de ChamonixHaute Route Chamonix–Zermatt, 6 daysChamonix–Zermatt, skipping the Schönbiel night · 2027 price · 6 days
6
€1,745 (group) · private €1,700–€3,550
Experience neededUp to 1,200 m of ascent and 7–8 hours a day. The listing appears to use the top technical level (experienced tourer, 10+ recent outings, exposed slopes); confirm with the office.Group price per person, minimum 4. Private price per person falls from €3,550 (2 people) to €1,700 (6). Includes IFMGA guide, hut half board, lifts and avalanche safety kit. Return transfer Zermatt–Chamonix €150 extra. A 2023 brochure showed €1,495.
Compagnie des Guides de ChamonixHaute Route Chamonix–Zermatt, 7 daysChamonix–Zermatt with a night at Cabane de Bertol · 2027 price · 7 days
7
€2,045 (group) · private €1,995–€4,140
Experience neededConfident off-piste in all snow, good ski-touring experience, kick turns; slopes up to 35° with occasional narrow sections.Group price per person, minimum 4; private per person from €4,140 (2) to €1,995 (6). Includes IFMGA guide, hut half board, lifts and transfers per programme, transceiver/shovel/probe/harness. Return transfer to Chamonix €150 extra. An older page shows €1,875 (2026) with a €120 transfer.
Compagnie des Guides de ChamonixHaute Route to Zermatt in 3 days (express)Chamonix–Zermatt, ski-mountaineering pace · 2027 price · 3 days
3
€1,310 (4 people) – €3,750 (solo)
Experience neededClimbing pace of about 500 m/hour and previous outings with over 1,500 m of gain.Per person by group size. March–April dates. 7–8 hours a day. Pitched at people training for races like the Patrouille des Glaciers.
Compagnie des Guides de ChamonixSki tour Verbier–ZermattVerbier–Zermatt · 2027 price · 4 days
4
€1,090 (6 people) – €1,395 (4)
Experience neededNo specific level stated for this tour on the page; ask the office.Headline says €1,180 per person (minimum 4), which doesn't match the tier table. 4–6 per guide. Includes IFMGA guide, hut half board, lifts, transfers and safety kit. Return transfer to Le Châble–Verbier €135 extra. 18+.
Compagnie des Guides de ChamonixChamonix–Zermatt Glacier Hiking Haute RouteSummer glacier route, Chamonix–Zermatt · 2027 price · 7 days
7
€1,900
Experience neededPrior glacier experience in crampons; up to 1,000 m of gain and 8–10 hour days.Per person, minimum 4; 4–6 per guide. 6 nights in huts or an inn on half board and lifts included. A PDF version lists €1,875 for 2026.
Compagnie des Guides de ChamonixHiking – Haute Route Chamonix to ZermattSummer hiking route (light backpack) · 2026 price · 6 days
6
from €1,735
Experience neededStrenuous: about 8 hours of hiking a day.Group of at least 7. Guiding, hut half board and lifts included; picnic lunches and return shuttle to Chamonix extra. A trail trek, not the glacier version.
Chamonix ExperienceHaute Route Ski Tour, 6 daysChamonix–Zermatt (5 days of skiing) · 2027 price · 6 days
6
€2,190
Experience neededAt least one previous multi-day hut-to-hut ski tour; kick turns on 35°+ slopes; prior use of crampons, ski crampons and ice axe. Fitness 4/5: skin up to 5 h / 1,100 m a day. Strong off-piste skiers with no touring are not accepted.Per person for groups of 6; departures mid-March to late April. 5 hut nights half board, lifts and group transfer Zermatt–Chamonix included; luggage stored and brought to Zermatt. Another Chamex page lists €1,990 for 2026–2027.
Chamonix ExperienceHaute Route Ski Tour Chamonix–Zermatt, 7 daysChamonix–Zermatt · 2027 price · 7 days
7
€2,370–€2,390
Experience neededSame as the 6-day: prior multi-day hut tour, steep kick turns, crampon and ice-axe experience.€2,370 per person as a private tour for a minimum of 6; other Chamex pages say from €2,390 (and one €2,195). Weekly departures 15 March–24 April 2027. Ratio 1:6. Transport, lifts and hut bookings included; Chamonix lodging extra.
Chamonix ExperienceGrande Lui Haute Route Ski TourHaute Route via the Grande Lui (more technical) · 2027 price · 7 days
7
€2,850
Experience neededExperienced ski tourer with high fitness; can ski sustained 40° slopes.Per person on the 2027 dates page; another page shows €2,690. About 9 hours a day for 7 consecutive days in high alpine terrain.
Chamonix ExperienceHaute Route 7-Day Guided Glacier TrekSummer glacier route, Chamonix–Zermatt · 2027 price · 7 days
7
€2,950 (group of 4)
Experience neededPrior crampon and ice-axe use is essential; able to follow climbs up to AD; 6–8 hours a day above 3,500 m.June–August, dates on demand. 6 nights in huts on half board. No luggage transfer: carry a 30–40 L pack.
Chamonix Experience5-Day Beginner Ski Touring CourseChamonix · 2027 price · 5 days
5
€1,190
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.January–April 2027 dates. Sold as preparation for trips like the Haute Route.
Mountain TracksHaute Route Ski TourChamonix–Zermatt, Verbier variation · 2027 price · 8 days
8
£1,975
Experience neededOff-piste intermediate: linked parallel turns in powder, ski trees in control, carry skis on your pack for short sections.Saturday-to-Saturday weeks: 13–20 Mar, 20–27 Mar, 10–17 Apr, 17–24 Apr 2027. 5 hut nights half board; max 1:6. Transfers and lifts (about €190) and touring-kit hire (skis €150–180, boots €80–90) extra. The page itself is old; dates came from its listing.
Mountain TracksGrand Lui Haute Route Ski TourHaute Route via the Grand Lui (most technical) · 2027 price · 10 days
10
£3,355
Experience neededExperienced ski tourers with high fitness; good uphill kick turns on steeper slopes; familiar with crampons and ice axe.One departure, 3–12 April 2027 (limited availability). Max 1:3, 6 people with 2 guides.
Mountain TracksShort Haute Route – Arolla to ZermattArolla–Zermatt · 7 days
7
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.5 days guiding, 4 hotel nights B&B, 2 hut nights half board, guide's expenses. Price not visible in what we could read.
Mountain TracksClassic Haute Route TrekSummer hiking route, Chamonix–Zermatt · 10 days
10
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Now sold as a private-group trip, with no dates or price on the page. 8 guided days, 8 nights half board in hotels and huts and 1 night B&B in Zermatt. A trail trek, not the glacier version.
Mountain Tracks2-day ski touring skills course (before the Haute Route)Run immediately before Haute Route departures · 2 days
2
£275
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Course fees only; hire kit, evening meals and transfers extra. Found on a team (private group) page, undated.
Jagged GlobeSki Haute RouteChamonix–Zermatt via Verbier · 2027 price · 9 days
9
£1,895
Experience neededJagged Globe's Ski Touring Introduction, or strong off-piste skiing with some touring (ideally multi-day). Minimum 700 m ascent and 15 km a day. Grade 10C.8 nights, 7 days skiing (prep day in Chamonix). 13–21 March 2027. Max 1:6, group 3–6. Chamonix hotel, huts and one Zermatt night included. Other JG pages say from £1,720 or £1,820. Single room +£120.
Jagged GlobeSki the A to Z of the Haute Route PlusArolla–Zermatt · 2027 price · 8 days
8
£1,695
Experience neededGrade 10C (intermediate tour).7 nights, 6 days guiding, 13–20 March 2027 from Arolla. Max 1:6. Luggage transfer Arolla–Zermatt included; ski passes, lifts and lunches extra. For people whose Haute Route ended early in Arolla.
Jagged GlobeHaute Route – Chamonix to Zermatt (summer)Summer glacier route via Arolla · 2027 price · 9 days
9
£2,195
Experience neededGrade C1: fit walkers used to long hill days; basic ice-axe/crampon experience helps.8 nights; departures 26 Jun, 3 Jul, 10 Jul 2027. Max 1:4, group 3–8. Chamonix and Arolla lodging, 6 hut nights and luggage transfer included; lifts (£70–80) extra. Other pages show from £2,095 and £1,995.
Jagged GlobeSki Touring IntroductionChamonix · 2027 price · 8 days
8
£1,595
Experience neededMust already ski off-piste.7 nights, 6 days skiing, 13–20 March 2027. Another page says from £1,520. Jagged Globe's suggested first step before its Haute Route.
ZERMATTERSHaute Route Chamonix–ZermattChamonix/Argentière–Zermatt · 6 days
6
from CHF 4,500
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.About 94 km and 6,700 m of climbing. One from-price for 1–6 people per guide. Guiding only: huts, meals, lifts, travel and touring-kit hire are extra (avalanche kit rental CHF 15/day).
ZERMATTERSSki Tour Haute Route from Saas-FeeSaas-Fee–Chamonix (about 150 km)
—
CHF 5,250
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Longer reverse variant. Price from structured data about 525 days old; likely a private-guide price. Huts and lifts presumably extra as on the Chamonix tour; confirm.
57hoursHaute Route Backcountry Skiing – Guided TourChamonix–Zermatt · 7 days
7
$3,282
Experience neededExcellent fitness, prior backcountry experience, black-diamond skiing.Booked through 57hours with a local guide; usual ratio 6:1. Guide, transport during the tour, 5 nights and most meals included; touring kit and transport to Chamonix extra; Swiss rescue insurance required. Other snippets show $3,237 and $3,280.
57hoursGuided Haute Route Glacier TrekMartigny–Zermatt · 5 days
5
$1,991
Experience neededExtensive multi-day hiking experience; no mountaineering experience required. 18+.July–August, private tour, minimum 4, max 6:1. 4 hut nights, breakfasts, dinners and picnics, transfer to Mauvoisin included. Crosses glaciers (ice axe, crampons, harness needed). Starts in Martigny, not Chamonix.
Alpine Ascents InternationalSummer Haute Route TrekSummer trail route, Chamonix–Zermatt · 2027 price · 10 days
10
$6,950
Experience neededNo mountaineering skills; 6–8 hours a day with up to 3,000 ft of gain.Departures 7–16 Aug and 3–12 Sep 2027. 7 hut nights and 2 hotel nights, all lift and tram fees, hut meals and luggage shuttle included. 100% on trail, not a glacier trek.
Mountain MadnessHaute Route Ski TraverseChamonix–Zermatt · 8 days
8
Not published, ask
Experience neededAdvanced; previous experience required (call for details).8 days in country; hut breakfasts and dinners included. Page shows a $0 placeholder price; call for a quote.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 22, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices are in each company’s own currency; sorting by price uses rough exchange rates. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Read this before you pay a deposit

The Chamonix guide offices are the value pick: the Compagnie des Guides 6-day is €1,745 with huts on half board, lifts and an avalanche kit included, and Chamex's €2,190 also covers the transfer back from Zermatt. Book either before looking at a US company.

ZERMATTERS' price (from CHF 4,500) covers the guide only. Huts, meals, lifts and travel come on top. Compare everything you would actually pay, not the headline price.

UK companies cost about the same as Chamonix (Jagged Globe £1,895, Mountain Tracks £1,975, both 1:6) and add hotel nights and a prep day. Mountain Tracks asks for the lowest level, 'off-piste intermediate', while Chamex demands a previous multi-day hut tour plus crampon and ice-axe use.

If you've never toured, do a prep course first rather than hoping to cope: Chamex's 5-day beginner course costs €1,190, Jagged Globe's introduction £1,595, and Mountain Tracks sells a 2-day course right before departure for £275.

Know which summer trip you're buying. Alpine Ascents ($6,950) and the Compagnie des Guides hiking trip (€1,735) stay on trails. Chamex (€2,950) and the Compagnie des Guides glacier trip (€1,900) cross glaciers and need crampon experience.

Ask what happens if the route stops in Arolla: weather often ends the traverse early, and Chamex gives no refund. Jagged Globe's A to Z trip (£1,695) exists so people can finish the Arolla–Zermatt section.

The companies

Compagnie des Guides de Chamonix

Based
Chamonix, France
Programs
6
Deposit
30% of the trip price plus registration and insurance fees; balance due 30 days before the start. Bookings within 30 days pay in full.
Refunds
Written cancellation. Multi-day terms retain 30% of the price (plus fees) 31–60 days out and 50% at 21–30 days out; the 5% booking fee is never refunded. The 61+ day tier differs between versions (5% of price vs. fees only).
Age
18+ (stated on the Verbier–Zermatt ski tour page).
Private
Private pricing published by group size (2–6 people) on the 6- and 7-day tours; 3-day express from 1 person.
Visit Compagnie des Guides ↗

Policy from: chamonix-guides.com, reservation.chamonix-guides.com, chamonix-guides.com, chamonix-guides.com

Chamonix Experience

Based
Chamonix, France
Programs
5
Deposit
30% deposit confirms the booking; balance due 90 days before the trip. Full payment if booking within 90 days.
Refunds
Cancel more than 90 days out: 30% of total price (the deposit). Within 90 days: 100%. No refund for leaving early, and no reschedule or refund when weather stops the trip.
Private
Private Haute Route sold from €2,370 per person (minimum 6 skiers); guide ratio 1:6, max 6 per group.
Visit Chamex ↗

Policy from: chamex.com, chamex.com, chamex.com

Mountain Tracks

Based
UK
Programs
5
Deposit
£300 per person, non-refundable; balance due 10 weeks before departure.
Refunds
Package holidays: deposit only if cancelled more than 10 weeks out; 30% at 70–43 days; 50% at 42–31 days; 100% at 30 days or less. Read from a test copy of the terms page.
Private
Private group Haute Route priced on enquiry (a 2026 private group was quoted at £1,645 pp for 6, £1,875 for 5, £2,045 for 4).
Visit Mountain Tracks ↗

Policy from: test.mountaintracks.co.uk, mountaintracks.co.uk, mountaintracks.co.uk

Jagged Globe

Based
UK
Programs
4
Deposit
£200 on the Ski Haute Route and summer Haute Route pages.
Refunds
Courses: 42+ days out lose deposit; 21–42 days 50% of course cost; under 21 days 100%.
Private
Scheduled ski tours run at max 1:6, group 3–6; summer Haute Route max 1:4, group 3–8.
Visit Jagged Globe ↗

Policy from: jagged-globe.co.uk, jagged-globe.co.uk, jagged-globe.co.uk

ZERMATTERS

Based
Zermatt, Switzerland
Programs
2
Deposit
Deposits are deducted from the total price. For climbing offers, deposits are not refunded on client cancellation or weather and are valid for the current season only.
Refunds
Ski, snowboard, bike, hike and climb bookings: CHF 50 admin fee per booking if cancelled from 14 days to 48 hours before the start; 100% from 48 hours before (section 7.2.a, exceptions in 7.2.b not seen).
Private
From CHF 4,500 for the Chamonix–Zermatt tour, for 1–6 people per guide.
Visit Zermatters ↗

Policy from: zermatters.ch, zermatters.ch, zermatters.ch

57hours

Based
Marketplace (local guides)
Programs
2
Deposit
Remaining 70% of the trip price due 90 days before departure (ski traverse listing).
Age
18+ (glacier trek listing).
Private
Glacier trek runs as a private tour, minimum 4 participants; usual ski ratio 6:1 and the per-person price doesn't fall as the group grows.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit 57hours ↗

Policy from: 57hours.com, 57hours.com

Alpine Ascents International

Based
Seattle, WA, USA
Programs
1
Deposit
$700 at registration, including a $300 non-refundable registration fee; balance due 120 days before start.
Refunds
120+ days out: full refund less registration fee. 90–119 days: 50%. 89 days or closer: no refund (company-wide terms).
Private
Private Haute Route treks offered.
Visit Alpine Ascents ↗

Policy from: alpineascents.com, alpineascents.com, alpineascents.com

Mountain Madness

Based
Seattle, WA, USA
Programs
1
Deposit
Deposit by credit card including a non-refundable registration fee (Haute Route amount not stated); balance due 120 days before departure.
Refunds
International trips: deposit refunded less registration fee if cancelled 121+ days before departure; no refunds at 120 days or less. Written notice required.
Visit Mountain Madness ↗

Policy from: mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com

Get an email when bookings open

Spring 2027 departures fill over the winter. Get an email when operators post new dates or change prices.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Chamonix, France. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources