Mount Assiniboine

Guided climbs · Mount Assiniboine, 3,618 m

Guided Mount Assiniboine climbs, compared

Assiniboine is the Matterhorn of the Rockies, climbed by the North Ridge from the Hind Hut. Check the hut before anything else: Assiniboine Lodge says it's closed until July 2027.

3companies compared, 6 programs
C$4,720cheapest published price, per person
3–5 daystrip length
May 11, 2027Hind Hut bookings open (closed until July 2027)

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 6 ·
Yamnuska Mountain AdventuresMt. Assiniboine Climb — 3 daysNorth Ridge (from Hind Hut) · 3 days
3
$4,720
Experience neededNot for beginners: recent alpine-style mountaineering experience (or extensive multi-pitch rock experience); experience questionnaire at booking.One person. Fri–Sun or Wed–Fri. Helicopter shuttle, hut fees and out-trip meals included; +5% GST.
Yamnuska Mountain AdventuresMt. Assiniboine Climb — 4 daysNorth Ridge (from Hind Hut) · 4 days
4
$5,877
Experience neededNot for beginners: recent alpine-style mountaineering experience (or extensive multi-pitch rock experience); experience questionnaire at booking.One person. Sun–Wed. Helicopter shuttle, hut fees and out-trip meals included; +5% GST. Yamnuska recommends 4–5 days.
Yamnuska Mountain AdventuresMt. Assiniboine Climb — 5 daysNorth Ridge (from Hind Hut) · 5 days
5
$6,986
Experience neededNot for beginners: recent alpine-style mountaineering experience (or extensive multi-pitch rock experience); experience questionnaire at booking.One person. Wed–Sun. Helicopter shuttle, hut fees and out-trip meals included; +5% GST.
Cloud Nine GuidesMount Assiniboine Ascent — 3 dayNorth Ridge (from Hind Hut) · 3 days
3
Not published, ask
Experience neededAble to hold a steady pace all day. In dry conditions, rock climbing and basic scrambling experience is often enough; in poor conditions, crampon and ice axe technique (pre-ascent training offered). Own crampon-compatible mountaineering boots required.June–October. Includes guiding, helicopter flights (Canmore heliport or Mount Shark), hut, technical gear. Rock to 5.6; summit day 8–10 h return to hut in dry conditions, 10–15 h otherwise.
Cloud Nine GuidesMount Assiniboine Ascent — 4 dayNorth Ridge (from Hind Hut) · 4 days
4
$4,780 (booking page; basis not stated)
Experience neededAble to hold a steady pace all day. In dry conditions, rock climbing and basic scrambling experience is often enough; in poor conditions, crampon and ice axe technique. Own crampon-compatible mountaineering boots required.Adds a backup summit day; Cloud Nine says this gives the best chance of success. Booking page lists $4,780 for 4 days including guiding, helicopter return from the lodge and Hind Hut reservation; boots not included. 5-day option also offered, price not found.
Ridgeline GuidingMt. Assiniboine (private)
—
From $950/day + expenses + GST
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.3–5 days; max 2:1. General mountaineering day rate, not an Assiniboine-specific price; helicopter and hut extra.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 19, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. All prices in Canadian dollars. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Mount Assiniboine yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
North Ridge
Grade
5.5, Alpine Grade II
How long
1-2 days from a hut or camp at Lake Magog
Best season
July to September
Permits
BC Parks backcountry camping reservation required for Magog/Og Lake if not flying in by helicopter; Banff day pass or Kananaskis Conservation Pass needed for the hiking approach trailheads.
Start from
Sunshine Village, 5,450 ft (1,661 m)
Climb from there
3,281 ft (1,000 m) of ascent over 17.1 mi one way
Getting there
Most parties fly by helicopter from the Mount Shark staging area near Canmore, or hike in via Sunshine Village (27.5 km) or the Mount Shark/Bryant Creek trail (25.6-27 km) to Lake Magog beneath the peak. Nearest airport: Calgary International Airport (YYC).
Hazards
Loose, fractured rock (notably on the Red Band), rockfall, sudden weather changes, exposure; the site of a fatal unroped fall in 2016
Gear
Full alpine rock rack (harness, helmet, ice axe, crampons) is needed for the North Ridge; hiking approaches require standard multi-day backpacking gear and bear spray for grizzly country.

North Ridge

Line from OpenStreetMap; profile approximate. Map and GPX download →

Sources: assiniboinelodge.com ↗bcparks.ca ↗yamnuska.com ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

Check the Hind Hut first: Assiniboine Lodge says it is closed until July 2027, and every guided North Ridge program found is based there.

Yamnuska is the only operator with clear, all-inclusive pricing: $4,720 for 3 days to $6,986 for 5 days, for one climber including helicopter and hut. Assiniboine Lodge also refers climbers to Yamnuska.

Pay for the 4-day option. Both Yamnuska and Cloud Nine say the extra summit day gives you the best odds, and helicopters only fly Wednesday, Friday and Sunday, so trip lengths are fixed around those days.

Cloud Nine's deposit is 50% and non-refundable, and Yamnuska keeps 40% if you cancel 56–42 days out. Get cancellation insurance either way.

The companies

Yamnuska Mountain Adventures

Based
Canmore, AB
Programs
3
Deposit
35% for programs of $800 or more; balance due 57 days before departure.
Refunds
Cancel 57+ days out = full refund less $100 (+tax) admin fee and 4% service fee; 56–42 days out = 60% refunded (programs $800+); under 42 days or during the program = no refund. Cancellations must be by email. Trip cancellation insurance via the Simpson Group.
Private
Listed prices are for one climber with a private guide. Private mountaineering guide-fee schedule lists 1 – $875, 2 – $500, 3 – $375, 4 – $312.50 (+GST; Assiniboine-type climbs may carry a surcharge); it does not say clearly whether these are per person or totals.
Visit Yamnuska ↗

Policy from: yamnuska.com, yamnuska.com, yamnuska.com

Cloud Nine Guides

Based
Canmore, AB
Programs
2
Deposit
Non-refundable deposit of 50% of the program cost; balance due 30 days before. Bookings made under 30 days out must be paid in full and are non-refundable.
Refunds
Cancel 30+ days out: amounts paid beyond the deposit are refunded or held as credit for one year. Under 30 days: no refund. Weather/avalanche/safety cancellations are not refunded but can be rebooked within one year at no extra charge. Full refund/credit if Cloud Nine cannot provide the service.
Private
Maximum 1:2 guide ratio on Assiniboine. Private programs add expenses such as the guide's transport.
Visit Cloud Nine ↗

Policy from: cloudnineguides.com, cloudnineguides.rezdy.com, cloudnineguides.com

Ridgeline Guiding

Programs
1
Deposit
Minimum 25% deposit when booking more than 30 days out.
Private
Private guiding; maximum 2:1 on Assiniboine. Mountaineering day rate from $950/day (8–10 h day) plus extra persons, expenses, surcharges and 5% GST.
Contact
(403) 679-9665
info@ridgelineguiding.com

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Ridgeline ↗

Policy from: ridgelineguiding.com, ridgelineguiding.com, ridgelineguiding.com

Get an email when bookings open

Hind Hut bookings open May 11, 2027. Get an email that week, and when 2027 guided dates are posted.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park, BC. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Mount Assiniboine on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources