Mount Baker

Guided climbs · Mount Baker, 10,781 ft

Guided Mount Baker climbs, compared

The mountain American guides teach glacier travel on. Real crevasses, a short approach and a summit at the end of it — which is why nearly every Rainier and Denali prerequisite can be met here for around $1,150.

5companies compared, 17 programs
$899cheapest published price, per person
3–4 daystrip length
May–Sepseason; the Easton and Coleman-Deming are climbable longest

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 17 ·
Kaf AdventuresMt. Baker Summit ClimbGlacier route (not specified on the page)
—
$899
Experience neededKaf's Mount Hood Skills Course or equivalent experience is the stated minimum.The cheapest guided Baker summit we found, because it assumes you arrive with the skills. Trip length was not stated on the page we could read.
International Mountain GuidesEaston Glacier Climb, 3 dayEaston Glacier · 2027 price · 3 days
3
$1,260
Experience neededSuitable for novices, but good fitness and endurance training are required.1 guide to 3 climbers. 2027 dates July 9–August 15. IMG's women's Easton Glacier climb ($1,100 in 2024) is no longer listed.
Mountain MadnessMount Baker Coleman-Deming Glacier, 3 dayColeman-Deming Glacier · 3 days
3
$1,195
Experience neededNot published on the page we could read.Transportation, tents and food included — which several similarly priced trips elsewhere do not cover.
Mountain MadnessMount Baker Easton Glacier, 3 dayEaston Glacier · 3 days
3
$1,150
Experience neededNot published on the page we could read.Same price and inclusions as their Coleman-Deming trip; the Easton is the south-side route and stays in condition longer.
Pro Guiding ServiceMt. Baker Summit Climb, 3 dayUsually Coleman-Deming Glacier · 3 days
3
$1,150
Experience neededNot published on the page we could read.Guide fee, tents, stoves and fuel are listed as not covered by the base price, so this one is not comparable with Mountain Madness's $1,150 until you add those. A flat $80 rental package was offered for 2026.
Pro Guiding ServiceMountaineering Course, 3 dayGlacier travel and crevasse rescue, with a summit attempt · 3 days
3
$1,150
Experience neededNo prior experience stated.4:1 or 8:2 guide ratio. Built around glacier travel and crevasse rescue. July and August dates listed, custom dates on request. Same caveat on inclusions as their summit climb.
Kaf AdventuresGlacier Mountaineering Skills CourseMount Baker, 3 days / 2 nights · 3 days
3
$1,149
Experience neededNo prior experience stated.Kaf teaches with AMGA-certified instructors. The 2027 schedule was not posted when we looked.
American Alpine InstituteMt. Baker Skills and Climb, 3 daySkills days plus a summit attempt · 2027 price · 3 days
3
$1,295
Experience neededNo prior experience stated.$1,195 on several late-summer 2027 dates — moving a week can save $100. AAI's own Denali and Rainier prerequisites are usually met on courses like this one.
Pro Guiding ServiceWomen's Mountaineering Course, 3 dayGlacier travel and crevasse rescue · 3 days
3
Not published, ask
Experience neededNo prior experience stated.Price not shown on the page we could read.
Mountain MadnessGlacier Mountaineering CourseMount Baker
—
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot published on the page we could read.Price and length not shown on the page we could read.
Mountain MadnessMount Baker 4-day 'Slow Boat'Glacier route, over four days · 4 days
4
$1,775
Experience neededNot published, but the extra day is aimed at people who want the pace eased rather than the skills taught.A fourth day and a group porter, so you carry less and have a spare day for weather. Transportation, tents and food included.
Pro Guiding ServiceMt. Baker North Ridge, 3 dayNorth Ridge · 3 days
3
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot published on the page we could read.Price not shown on the page we could read. The North Ridge is the classic alpine ice line on the mountain.
Kaf AdventuresMt. Baker North Ridge Summit ClimbNorth Ridge
—
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot published on the page we could read.Price and length not shown on the page we could read.
Mountain MadnessMount Baker Coleman HeadwallColeman Headwall
—
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot published on the page we could read.Price and length not shown on the page we could read.
Pro Guiding ServiceAlpine Ice CourseMount Baker
—
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot published on the page we could read.Price and length not shown on the page we could read.
Pro Guiding ServiceMt. Baker Ski Summit, 3 daySki descent from the summit · 3 days
3
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot published on the page we could read.Price not shown on the page we could read.
American Alpine InstituteMt. Baker Summit on Skis or SnowboardSki or splitboard descent
—
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot published on the page we could read.Price and length not shown on the page we could read.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 20, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Mount Baker yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
Coleman-Deming Glacier route (north side) or Easton Glacier route (south side)
Grade
PD, glacier travel with crevasse navigation
How long
2–3 days
Best season
May–September
Permits
Northwest Forest Pass required for trailhead parking (Heliotrope Ridge or Schriebers Meadow); climbers travel within Mount Baker Wilderness and Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest.
Start from
Heliotrope Ridge Trailhead
Climb from there
7,175 ft (2,187 m) of ascent over 5.5 mi one way
Getting there
Bellingham, WA is the nearest city with an airport, about 30 miles west; Glacier, WA is the last services stop before the Heliotrope Ridge and Schriebers Meadow trailheads. Nearest airport: Bellingham International (BLI); Seattle-Tacoma International (SEA) ~2.5 hrs away.
Hazards
Crevasses and seracs on the Coleman and Deming Glaciers, icefall near Colfax Peak and the Roman Wall, volcanic gases near Sherman Crater
Gear
Standard glacier travel kit — crampons, ice axe, harness, crevasse rescue gear; alpine touring or splitboard setup for the Coleman-Deming ski descent

Coleman-Deming Glacier route

Line from OpenStreetMap; profile approximate. Map and GPX download →

Sources: mountainguides.com ↗mountainmadness.com ↗kafadventures.com ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

Baker is the cheapest place in North America to buy the skills that unlock everything else. A three-day course here runs $1,149–$1,295 and is what Rainier, Denali and most European operators mean when they ask for 'glacier travel and crevasse rescue'. Doing it on Baker rather than on the objective itself is a few thousand dollars cheaper.

Four programs sit at almost exactly $1,150, and they are not the same product. Mountain Madness includes transportation, tents and food. Pro Guiding lists guide fee, tents, stoves and fuel as not covered by the base price. Before comparing, ask each company what the number actually buys.

If you already move competently on a rope team, Kaf's $899 summit climb is the cheapest way up — but it requires their Mount Hood Skills Course or equivalent, so it is not a shortcut around the course, it is what you do after one.

Refund terms split sharply. Mountain Madness refunds everything but the registration fee down to 91 days. AAI keeps half your remaining tuition from 150 days out and all of it from 120. Kaf refunds all but 3% at 90+ days. On a $1,150 trip the difference is real money, and Pro Guiding publishes nothing at all.

The companies

Kaf Adventures

Based
Seattle, WA
Programs
3
Deposit
50% deposit at registration, balance due 90 days before the start. Trips starting within 90 days are paid in full.
Refunds
90+ days: refund minus a 3% processing fee. 60–89 days: rebook within a year, full credit, or 50% refund minus 3%. 30–59 days: 50% credit, no refund. 10–29 days: no refund, 50% credit — though the same page also says no refund or credit under 30 days, so it contradicts itself. If Kaf cancels: reschedule, or a full refund if rebooking isn't possible.
Age
16+. Ages 16–17 need parent/guardian sign-off and guide-service approval.
Visit Kaf ↗

Policy from: kafadventures.com, kafadventures.com, kafadventures.com, kafadventures.com

Mountain Madness

Based
Seattle, WA
Programs
5
Deposit
The deposit contains a non-refundable registration fee (on its Bolivia and Mont Blanc trips that is $300 of a $700 deposit; the Baker figure was not published where we looked).
Refunds
Domestic trips: full refund less the non-refundable registration fee at 91 days or more before departure, and no refund at 89 days or less. Its own wording leaves day 90 unaccounted for — ask. International trips and Denali, Carstensz, Logan and Vinson use a 121/120-day cut-off instead. Full refund if Mountain Madness cancels for insufficient sign-ups.
Visit Mountain Madness ↗

Policy from: mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com

Pro Guiding Service

Based
North Bend, WA
Programs
6
Refunds
Not published on the pages we could read. Get the schedule in writing before you pay.
Private
Custom dates available on request.
Visit Pro Guiding ↗

Policy from: proguiding.com, proguiding.com, proguiding.com, proguiding.com

American Alpine Institute

Based
Bellingham, WA
Programs
2
Deposit
$500 registration fee on domestic programs, credited against tuition.
Refunds
Domestic programs: cancel more than 150 days out and AAI keeps the $500 fee, refunding the rest. 120–150 days: it keeps the fee plus half the remaining tuition. Inside 120 days: it keeps the whole tuition. Requests must be in writing and received by the deadline. AAI describes its partial refunds as discretionary, and Rainier is excepted entirely — no refund on any date unless your place is resold.
Visit AAI ↗

Policy from: alpineinstitute.com, alpineinstitute.com, alpineinstitute.com, alpineinstitute.com

International Mountain Guides

Based
Ashford, WA
Programs
1
Deposit
$500 non-refundable registration fee at sign-up, credited against the total. Balance due 120 days before arrival.
Refunds
No schedule beyond the non-refundable registration fee was published where we looked.
Visit IMG ↗

Policy from: mountainguides.com, mountainguides.com

Get an email when bookings open

Baker courses fill from February for the summer. Get an email when we see new dates or price changes.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Glacier, Washington. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Mount Baker on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources