The Breithorn

Guided climbs · The Breithorn, 4,164 m

Guided Breithorn and Zermatt 4,000 m climbs, compared

The Breithorn, Allalinhorn and Lagginhorn are where most people climb their first 4,000 m peak: a lift does most of the height and a guide does the rest in a morning. Day rates from Zermatt, Saas-Fee and Cervinia guides, the harder Breithorn traverses and Pollux, and the UK and Chamonix "4000er weeks" built around them.

9companies compared, 23 programs
€150cheapest published price, per person
1–9 daystrip length
CHF 138adult summer return, Zermatt to Matterhorn Glacier Paradise. No guide fee we found includes it

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 23 ·
ZERMATTERSBreithorn ascent (in a group)Normal route from Klein Matterhorn · 2026 price · 1 day
1
CHF 240 per person
Experience neededNo experience required; minimum age 18.Groups of 3–6; runs only if the minimum books. Crampons, harness and pole included; Klein Matterhorn lift tickets not. Homepage still shows "from CHF 225".
ZERMATTERSBreithorn ascent – private guideNormal route from Klein Matterhorn · 1 day
1
CHF 660–680 per guide
Experience neededNo prior experience; recommended minimum age 12.Private guide for 1–6 people depending on conditions. Lift extra: Zermatt–Klein Matterhorn return "from CHF 95" with GA/Half-Fare/Swiss Travel Pass discounts.
ZERMATTERSBreithorn half traverse (in a group)Breithorn half traverse · 1 day
1
Not published, ask
Experience neededClimbing up to UIAA IV; technique 4/5, endurance 2/5; minimum age 18 for the group version.About 5 hours from Klein Matterhorn; daily mid-July to mid-September. 1–2 people per guide. Lift from about CHF 57 return with discounts; rental CHF 50–70.
ZERMATTERSBreithorn Traverse (up to 5 peaks)Full traverse from Roccia Nera · 1 day
1
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Up to five 4,000 m summits in one day. Guide fee not found; lift from about CHF 57 return with discounts, rental CHF 50–70.
ZERMATTERSPollux ascent – private guidePollux from the east, snow and rocky ridge · 1 day
1
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Private guide, 1–2 clients. The page shows no price out of season. Lift (from about CHF 57 with rail discounts) and rental extra. A group version exists (min 2).
ZERMATTERSCastor ascent (in a group)Castor · 1 day
1
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Guide fee not found; rail journey from about CHF 57 return extra.
ZERMATTERSRock & Ice Basic Course in a GroupTraining day + Breithorn · 2 days
2
Not published, ask
Experience neededBeginners.Day 1 crampons, rope and ice axe; day 2 Breithorn ascent. 3–6 participants (minimum 3); May–October. Price not found.
GuidezoneClimb Breithorn with IFMGA GuideNormal route from Klein Matterhorn · 1 day
1
CHF 690 for 1–2 people, +CHF 50 per extra person (max 6)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Guide fee only. Klein Matterhorn return lift for you and the guide, and gear rental, are extra.
GuidezoneBreithorn half traverseBreithorn half traverse · 1 day
1
CHF 800 (1 person) / CHF 890 (2 people)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Max 2 people per guide. Lift extra.
GuidezoneBreithorn full traverseFull traverse · 1 day
1
CHF 1,200 (1 person only)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.One client per guide. Lift extra.
Jules Pession Guida AlpinaBreithorn Ascent with Mountain GuideNormal route (from Cervinia or Zermatt) · 1 day
1
from €150
Experience neededGrade F (easy).Meet in Cervinia, cable car to Klein Matterhorn/Plateau Rosa; 3–4 hours to the summit. Max 5 per guide. Lift ticket not included.
Jules Pession Guida AlpinaBreithorn half traverseBreithorn half traverse · 1 day
1
from €400
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Done in a single day. Lift extra.
Jules Pession Guida AlpinaBreithorn full traverseFull traverse · 1 day
1
from €1,200
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Lift extra.
Saas-Fee GuidesAllalinhorn 4027mNormal route from Mittelallalin · 1 day
1
CHF 770 (1) / CHF 425 pp (2) / CHF 310 pp (3) – private
Experience neededPrivate: no experience needed. Group tours only with crampon experience.Easy glacier tour, about 4 hours round trip. Lifts not included. No group price found for the summer route.
Saas-Fee GuidesLagginhorn 4010m from Weissmies HutWeissmies Hut, moraine, glacier, rock and snowfields · May 27 – Oct 2, 2027 price · 2 days
2
CHF 1,000 (1) / CHF 540 pp (2) – private
Experience neededCrampon experience; good fitness for 1,300 m of ascent.Private tour only. You walk up to the Weissmies Hut the day before and meet the guide there. Lifts, rental and the hut night for you and the guide extra.
Active DreamsAllalin 4027m – your first 4000 m peakNormal route from Mittelallalin · 1 day
1
CHF 690 (1 per guide) / CHF 360 pp (2 per guide)
Experience neededTechnically easy; moderate fitness.Daily mid-June to late October. Crampons, harness and ice axe included. About 2.5 h up, 1.25 h down.
Active DreamsMein erster 4000er – Allalinhorn plusNormal route from Mittelallalin
—
CHF 950 (1) / 620 (2) / 540 (3) / 490 (4) per person
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Guide, 2 hotel nights in a double room with half board, welcome apéro. All Saas valley lifts and buses included except the Metro Alpin (the funicular to Mittelallalin).
Active DreamsWeissmies South Ridge + LagginhornWeissmies Südgrat, Lagginhorn · 3 days
3
CHF 1,380 per person (2 per guide)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Cable car and transport costs excluded.
Chamonix ExperienceSaas-Fee 4000ers: A High-Alpine Summit CourseWeissmies SE ridge, Allalinhorn, Lagginhorn W ridge · 2027 price · 6 days
6
€3,690
Experience neededIntermediate; fitness 3/5.Dri Horlini warm-up, then Weissmies, Allalinhorn and Lagginhorn with a Weissmies hut night. 1:2 ratio, max 6. 5 nights accommodation included; lifts not mentioned. Dates June–September 2027.
Jagged GlobeZermatt 4000ersBreithorn, Castor, optional Pollux (via Ayas hut) · 2027 price · 9 days
9
£2,895
Experience neededGrade C2 Intermediate.8 nights (4 hotel, 3 hut), 6 guided days with IFMGA guide; 2–6 people. Lifts excluded (est. £40–50 with Swiss Card). Single room +£200. Late June–early August 2027.
Jagged GlobeSaas 4000ersSaas valley 4,000ers incl. Weissmies South Ridge · 2027 price
—
£2,695
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.From Saas Grund; five 2027 dates, 19 June–4 September. Single room +£180. Bookable in GBP, USD or EUR.
Adventure PeaksSaas Fee 4000m PeaksWeissmies, Lagginhorn, Allalinhorn, Alphubel, Rimpfischhorn
—
from £3,195
Experience neededIntermediate.6 mountain days, 1:2; 4 hut nights half board plus valley B&B. Cable cars excluded (about £120). No dates currently listed.
Mountain TracksMonterosa ClimberPollux, Breithorn traverse, Castor, Dufourspitze
—
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Based in Zermatt; 6 days guiding with IFMGA guide, 1:2; B&B hotel and half-board huts. Lift uplift excluded. Optional 2-day Matterhorn extension £1,250.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 22, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices are in each company’s own currency; sorting by price uses rough exchange rates. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb The Breithorn yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
South-southwest flank from the Klein Matterhorn (Breithorn Plateau route)
Grade
PD (glacier walk, ~35° final snow slope)
How long
3-4 hours round trip
Best season
Late spring through early autumn (roughly May-September), when the Klein Matterhorn lift is running and the plateau is in stable condition
Permits
No climbing permit is required; access is via a paid Klein Matterhorn cable car ticket from Zermatt or Breuil-Cervinia.
Start from
Klein Matterhorn / Matterhorn Glacier Paradise cable car station, 12,740 ft (3,883 m)
Climb from there
921 ft (281 m) of ascent over 3.1 mi one way
Getting there
Most climbers ride the Klein Matterhorn cable car from Zermatt to roughly 3,820-3,883 m, putting them within a few hours of the summit without an overnight hut stay. Nearest airport: Geneva Airport (GVA) or Milan Malpensa Airport (MXP).
Hazards
Crevasses on the plateau (rope and glacier travel skills required), altitude effects for those coming straight up from Zermatt, and rapidly changing high-alpine weather.
Gear
Standard glacier travel kit: crampons, ice axe, harness and rope for crevasse rescue; despite the easy grade, this is still real glaciated terrain and should not be treated as a simple walk.

Sources: guidezone.co ↗matterhornparadise.ch ↗activedreams.ch ↗saas-fee.ch ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

The lift is the cost nobody puts in the price. Zermatt–Matterhorn Glacier Paradise is CHF 138 return in summer, every guide fee we found excludes it, and on Guidezone you also buy your guide's ticket. Active Dreams' Allalin package covers Saas valley lifts except the Metro Alpin, which is the one you need.

The cheapest way up is a group day: ZERMATTERS CHF 240 with crampons and harness included, or Jules Pession from €150 on the Italian side. A private ZERMATTERS guide is CHF 660 for up to six, so three friends pay about the same per head as the group and get their own guide.

The Allalinhorn is the Saas-Fee equivalent and costs about the same. Saas-Fee Guides charge CHF 310 each for three privately, Active Dreams CHF 360 each for two. Saas-Fee Guides only put people with crampon experience in their groups.

Traverses and Pollux are a different product: UIAA IV rock, 1–2 clients per guide, CHF 800–1,200 for one person. Don't book them as a "first 4000er".

UK 4000er weeks (Jagged Globe £2,695–2,895, Adventure Peaks from £3,195) buy 6 guided days with huts, hotels and a planned acclimatisation sequence, but still exclude lifts. Chamex's 6-day Saas-Fee course is €3,690. Booking local day guides gets you the summits for much less, but you plan the week and book the beds yourself.

The companies

ZERMATTERS

Based
Zermatt, Switzerland
Programs
7
Deposit
Deposits are deducted from the total price; kept if the tour cannot run because of weather.
Refunds
No extra charge for a guide's weather cancellation (decided 24–48 h ahead), but the deposit is retained. Refunds go to the original payment method.
Private
Private Breithorn guides take 1–6 people depending on conditions; recommended minimum age 12 for private tours, 18 for group tours. Half traverse 1–2 per guide.
Visit Zermatters ↗

Policy from: zermatters.ch, zermatt.swiss, zermatters.ch

Guidezone

Based
Booking platform for IFMGA guides (Zermatt listings)
Programs
3
Private
Breithorn priced per guide: CHF 690 for 1–2 people, +CHF 50 per extra person up to 6. You pay the Klein Matterhorn lift for yourself and the guide.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Guidezone ↗

Policy from: guidezone.co

Jules Pession Guida Alpina

Based
Cervinia, Italy
Programs
3
Private
Breithorn normal route max 5 people per guide.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Jules Pession ↗

Policy from: julespession.guide, julespession.guide, julespession.guide

Saas-Fee Guides

Based
Saas-Fee, Switzerland
Programs
2
Private
Allalinhorn private rates fall per head from 1 to 3 people. Group tours only for people with crampon experience; private tours possible with none.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Saas-Fee Guides ↗

Policy from: saasfeeguides.com, saasfeeguides.ch

Active Dreams

Based
Saas-Fee, Switzerland
Programs
3
Private
Priced per person by how many share a guide (1–4).
Contact
info@activedreams.ch

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Active Dreams ↗

Policy from: activedreams.ch, activedreams.ch, activedreams.ch

Chamonix Experience

Based
Chamonix, France
Programs
1
Deposit
30% deposit confirms the booking; balance due 90 days before the trip. Full payment if booking within 90 days.
Refunds
Cancel more than 90 days out: 30% of total price (the deposit). Within 90 days: 100%. No refund for leaving early, and no reschedule or refund when weather prevents the summit attempt.
Private
Guiding ratio 1:2; groups max 6.
Visit Chamex ↗

Policy from: chamex.com, chamex.com

Jagged Globe

Based
UK
Programs
2
Deposit
£200 deposit on the Zermatt 4000ers and Saas 4000ers pages (the Matterhorn page says £300 non-refundable).
Refunds
Courses: 42+ days out lose deposit; 21–42 days 50% of course cost; under 21 days 100%.
Private
Private Alps summer guiding offered; scheduled 4000er courses run for 2–6 people.
Visit Jagged Globe ↗

Policy from: jagged-globe.co.uk, jagged-globe.co.uk, jagged-globe.co.uk

Adventure Peaks

Based
UK
Programs
1
Deposit
£800 deposit at booking; £800 interim deposit 4 months before departure; balance 10 weeks before.
Private
Guide ratio 1:2 on the Saas Fee 4000m course.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Adventure Peaks ↗

Policy from: adventurepeaks.com

Mountain Tracks

Based
UK
Programs
1
Private
Guide ratio 1:2. Matterhorn extension £1,250 per person (2 days guiding, hut + hotel night).

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Mountain Tracks ↗

Policy from: mountaintracks.co.uk

Get an email when bookings open

Get an email when 2027 Zermatt and Saas-Fee group dates and the UK 4000er-week prices are posted, plus any price changes.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Zermatt, Switzerland. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

The Breithorn on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources