Everest Base Camp

Guided treks & climbs · Everest Base Camp, 5,364 m

Guided Everest Base Camp treks, compared

Every company walks the same trail from Lukla. A Kathmandu operator charges about $1,500, a UK company £2,150–£2,400 land-only and a US outfitter $4,900–$6,650. Add Island Peak or Mera and the range is $2,400 to $9,950.

12companies compared, 34 programs
£1,120cheapest published price, per person
14–29 daystrip length
Ramechhapabout 90% of Lukla flights now leave from Manthali, not Kathmandu

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 34 ·
Exodus Adventure TravelsEverest Base Camp TrekLukla–Namche–Gorak Shep, Kala Patthar · Nov 2026–2028 price · 16 days
16
£2,335
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Excludes international flights. Price shown carries a 20% discount; later departures run to £3,195. Deposit £583 on most dates. Exodus says all Lukla flights now go from Manthali (Ramechhap); trekking permit and national park fees are listed as included.
Exodus Adventure TravelsEverest & Gokyo Lakes CircuitGokyo Lakes, Cho La, EBC · 19 days
19
£2,735
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Excludes flights. A November 2027 departure is listed at £3,827.
Exodus Adventure TravelsMera Peak ClimbMera Peak (6,476 m) · 21 days
21
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.New trip: the page shows no dates or prices yet. Exodus says long Lukla delays may mean shortening the trek or switching region.
Jagged GlobeEverest Base Camp TrekLukla–EBC, Kala Patthar · Oct 2026 price · 19 days
19
£2,400 from Kathmandu / £3,595 with UK flights
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.24 Oct–11 Nov 2026. Includes the return Ramechhap–Lukla flight, transfers to Ramechhap and a night there, therapeutic oxygen, a hyperbaric chamber and a satellite communicator. Sherpa guides at 1:3. Insurance, tips and visa extra. Deposit £250, single room +£225.
Jagged GlobeEverest 3 Peaks 3 PassesThree high passes plus three trekking summits · Oct 2026 price · 24 days
24
£3,395 from Kathmandu / £4,695–£4,775 with UK flights
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.23 Oct–15 Nov 2026; 2027 dates £3,495 from Kathmandu. Deposit £350, single room +£250, group 3–9.
Jagged GlobeIsland PeakIsland Peak (6,189 m) · Oct 2026 price · 22 days
22
£3,795 from Kathmandu / £5,195 with UK flights
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.24 Oct–14 Nov 2026. The April 2027 departure is £3,895 from Kathmandu / £5,095 with flights.
Jagged GlobeMera PeakMera Peak (6,476 m) · Apr & Oct 2027 price
—
£3,995 from Kathmandu / £5,395 with UK flights
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Jagged Globe's Nepal page shows a lower 'from £3,845'. A Mera + Island Peak combination runs Oct 2027 at £6,595 from Kathmandu / £7,995 with flights.
Adventure PeaksClassic Everest Base Camp TrekLukla–EBC, Kala Patthar (5,554 m) · 2026 price · 18 days
18
£2,150 land / £3,150 with flight
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Teahouse trek, no camping. Grade T3.
Adventure PeaksUltimate Everest Base Camp TrekGokyo, EBC, Kala Patthar · 2026 price · 23 days
23
£2,495–£2,595 land / £3,495 with flight
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Grade T4.
Adventure PeaksIsland Peak and PokaldePokalde (5,806 m) then Island Peak (6,189 m) · 2026 price · 19 days
19
£2,950 land / £3,950 with flight
Experience neededGrade 3B on Adventure Peaks' scale: a technical trekking peak.Grade 3B. Another Adventure Peaks listing shows £3,125, and a search page £3,195. Deposit £400.
Adventure PeaksMera PeakMera Peak (6,476 m) · 2026 price · 23 days
23
£3,650 land / £4,650 with flight
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Grade 2B. Island Peak can be added after Mera for £1,000. A 30-day Mera + Island Peak trip is from £4,500 land / £5,500 with flight.
Much Better AdventuresTrek to Everest Base CampLukla–EBC · Sep–May price · 16 days
16
£1,264
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.15 nights. Meals on trek are not included; MBA says people spend $40–$50 a day on food and hot drinks. Departures run £1,264–£1,393, with one on sale at £1,137; prices move with exchange rates. 10% deposit.
Much Better AdventuresClimb Mera PeakMera Peak · 20 days
20
£2,700
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.19 nights. Open departures £2,700–£2,835 (a sold-out date was £2,627). Suggested tips about $160 for the trek crew and $100 for the climbing crew.
Mountain KingdomsEverest Base Camp TrekLukla–EBC, Kala Patthar · 2026–27 price · 19 days
19
£2,275 land / £3,625 with flights
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Includes a down jacket and sleeping bag, trek staff and full porterage. A regional listing shows £2,745 for the same trip. Deposit £400.
Mountain KingdomsEverest Base Camp & Gokyo LakesGokyo Lakes and EBC · 2027 price · 21 days
21
£2,575 land / £4,025 with flights
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.16 or 17 days on trek. Graded Strenuous.
Mountain KingdomsEverest Base Camp in StyleLukla–EBC, Kala Patthar, best lodges · 2026–27 price · 20 days
20
£3,345 land / £4,740 with flights
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.15 days on trek, 9 nights in top-quality lodges, Dwarika's in Kathmandu. Other listings show £3,375 land. Single room in lodges +£580.
Mountain KingdomsMera Peak ExpeditionMera Peak (6,476 m) · 2026–27 price · 22 days
22
£3,395 land / £4,845 with flights
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.17 days on trek. Expedition grade.
G AdventuresEverest Base Camp Trek (ANEA)Lukla–EBC · 15 days
15
$1,749
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.List price; some departures discounted to $1,224 (30% off) and others list at $1,849. Lukla flights included. Budget $360–$470 for meals not included, plus tips ($4–7 a day for porters). Keep about $500 one way for a helicopter if Lukla flights are cancelled.
Intrepid TravelEverest Base Camp Trek – 15 daysLukla–EBC · 15 days
15
£1,120
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Some dates are on sale from £972. In peak seasons flights may use Ramechhap (Manthali). If Lukla flights are cancelled the group may charter a helicopter at up to US$500 each, paid by you.
Alpine Ascents InternationalEverest Base Camp TrekLukla–EBC, Kala Patthar
—
$6,500
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Alpine Ascents calls the price all-inclusive: Kathmandu hotels, welcome and farewell dinners and the round trip to Lukla by helicopter. An optional helicopter return from below Base Camp costs $500–$750.
Alpine Ascents InternationalIsland Peak and Kala PattarEBC trek, Kala Patthar, Island Peak
—
$7,800 (old listing, ask)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Land cost; international flights extra. Listed departures Mar 15 and Oct 19, 2027. The price page looks more than two years old.
Mountain MadnessEverest Base Camp TrekLukla–EBC, Kala Patthar · 21 days
21
$4,900
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.21 days including travel. Groups of 2+. Private room in Kathmandu +$775.
Mountain MadnessIsland Peak Expedition with Gokyo trekGokyo, then Island Peak · 28 days
28
$6,400
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.28 days including travel. Single supplement $850.
Mountain MadnessMera Peak ExpeditionMera Peak (6,476 m) · 21 days
21
$6,900
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.21 days including travel.
Mountain MadnessMera Peak & Island Peak ComboMera Peak then Island Peak · 29 days
29
$9,950
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.29 days including travel. No single supplement.
Madison MountaineeringEverest Base Camp TrekLukla–EBC · Oct 2026 / Apr 2027 price · 21 days
21
$6,650
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Oct 20–Nov 9, 2026 or Apr 13–28, 2027. Includes Kathmandu hotels, all in-country flights to Lukla, trek lodging and meals, permits and park fees. Deposit $1,500.
Madison MountaineeringIsland PeakIsland Peak (6,189 m) · Oct 2026 / Apr 2027 price · 19 days
19
$7,950
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Oct 20–Nov 7, 2026 or Apr 13–May 1, 2027. Deposit $2,000. No refunds of deposit or balance, even if weather stops the summit. A Gokyo Ri / Lobuche / Island Peak version is $8,450 (deposit $2,200).
Himalayan GlacierEverest Base Camp TrekLukla–EBC, Kala Patthar · 2026–27 price · 14 days
14
$2,999
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person twin share. The page headline says 'from $2,499'. Includes trek meals, Lukla flights, all permits, a Sherpa guide, porters and emergency oxygen. Himalayan Glacier suggests tipping about 10% of the trip price.
Himalayan GlacierEverest Base Camp Luxury TrekLukla–EBC, luxury lodges · 2026–27 price · 15 days
15
$3,790
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person twin share.
Himalayan GlacierIsland Peak Climbing with Everest Base Camp TrekEBC, then Island Peak · 2026–27 price · 19 days
19
$4,599
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person twin share. A 16-day Island Peak-only expedition is $4,230; a 22-day Island Peak + Three Passes trip is $5,130.
Ace the HimalayaEverest Base Camp Trek 14 DaysLukla–EBC, Kala Patthar · 14 days
14
$1,380–$1,550
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Priced by group size: $1,550 solo, $1,500 for 2–3, $1,450 for 4–9, $1,380 for 10–14. Ace suggests $15–$20 a day spending money.
Ace the HimalayaEverest Base Camp with Island PeakEBC, then Island Peak · 19 days
19
$2,400–$2,550
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.$2,550 for 2–5, $2,400 for 6–10; another line on the same page says $2,450. Climbing gear rental is $250 extra, and Ace says to budget $300–$500 more for extras.
Ace the HimalayaMera Peak ClimbingMera Peak (6,476 m) · 19 days
19
$2,700
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person.
Ace the HimalayaLuxury Everest Base Camp Trek with Helicopter ReturnLukla–EBC, shared helicopter back from Gorak Shep
—
$4,100–$5,700
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.$4,350 for 2–5, $4,100 for 6–14, $5,700 solo. The helicopter is shared; a private seat is $650 more. Minimum two per departure.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 22, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices are in each company’s own currency; sorting by price uses rough exchange rates. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Everest Base Camp yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
Southeast Ridge from the South Col via the Khumbu Icefall, Western Cwm, and Lhotse Face (Nepal side); North Ridge from Tibet is the other main line
Grade
Non-technical trekking terrain by alpine grading standards, but with fixed ladders/ropes through the Khumbu Icefall and extreme-altitude hazard above 8,000 m
How long
8-12 hour summit push from Camp 4 / South Col (7,986 m); full expedition runs weeks
Best season
Pre-monsoon spring (April-May); a smaller post-monsoon autumn window exists
Permits
Nepal requires a paid climbing permit from the Department of Tourism (tens of thousands of dollars per climber); Tibet issues separate permits for north-side climbs.
Start from
Everest Base Camp (South, Nepal side), 17,598 ft (5,364 m)
Climb from there
11,434 ft (3,485 m) of ascent
Getting there
Climbers fly from Kathmandu to Lukla and trek roughly a week via Namche Bazaar to reach Everest Base Camp on Nepal's south side. Nearest airport: Tenzing–Hillary Airport in Lukla (reached by a short flight from Kathmandu's Tribhuvan International Airport); north-side climbers typically fly into Lhasa.
Hazards
Icefall avalanche and serac collapse, extreme altitude and hypoxia, jet-stream winds, narrow weather windows, overcrowding/queuing near the summit
Gear
Full 8,000 m mountaineering kit is required — down suit, high-altitude boots, supplemental oxygen system (around $3,000 alone) — with personal gear costs commonly exceeding $8,000 on top of guiding and permit fees.

Sources: ntb.gov.np ↗khumbupasanglhamumun.gov.np ↗kathmandupost.com ↗nepalmountaineering.org ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

Same trail, three price bands. Nepali operators sell the classic trek for $1,400–$3,000, UK and global group companies for £1,120–£2,400 land-only (about $1,750 at G Adventures), and US outfitters for $4,900–$6,650. The US price buys a Western leader, small groups and, at Alpine Ascents, a helicopter both ways to Lukla.

Check what 'land only' leaves out. Much Better Adventures and G Adventures don't include trek meals ($40–$50 a day at MBA; G says $360–$470 in all), Ace charges $250 to rent Island Peak gear, and nearly everyone leaves tips out. Mountain Kingdoms and Madison include the most: full board, kit or flights.

Plan around Ramechhap. Most Lukla flights now go from Manthali in Ramechhap district rather than Kathmandu, and weather can ground them for days. G Adventures and Intrepid say to keep about $500 a person for a charter helicopter if flights are cancelled. Add a buffer day at the end.

Mera is the higher of the two peaks (6,476 m against 6,189 m), and operators grade it the easier one: Adventure Peaks rates it 2B against 3B for Island Peak. The UK companies sell it for £2,700–£4,000 land-only, US outfitters for $6,900, and Ace for $2,700. The NMA permit costs twice as much in spring ($350) as in autumn ($175), so autumn trips have a little less built into the price.

Refund rules vary more than prices. Madison refunds nothing on Island Peak, and US companies close their windows 90–120 days out. Exodus and the other UK companies keep the deposit until about 10 weeks out, and the Nepali operators keep 20–25% as 'lifetime credit'. Buy insurance that covers helicopter evacuation to 6,000 m+ when you pay the deposit (Intrepid tells you to check this explicitly).

The companies

Exodus Adventure Travels

Based
London, UK
Programs
3
Deposit
At least 25% of the trip price, minimum £300 (£583 on most EBC dates).
Refunds
Up to 90 days before departure you lose the deposit; 89–52 days 50%; 51–31 days 75%; 30 days or less 100%. Inside the 90-day window a direct booking can move its deposit to a new trip booked within three months.
Visit Exodus ↗

Policy from: exodus.co.uk, exodus.co.uk

Jagged Globe

Based
Sheffield, UK
Programs
4
Deposit
£250 on the EBC trek, £350 on 3 Peaks 3 Passes.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Jagged Globe ↗

Policy from: jagged-globe.co.uk, jagged-globe.co.uk, jagged-globe.co.uk, trek.jagged-globe.co.uk

Adventure Peaks

Based
Ambleside, UK
Programs
4
Deposit
£400 at checkout on Island Peak; an interim deposit 4 months out and the balance 10 weeks out.
Refunds
Deposits are non-refundable. More than 10 weeks' notice: lose initial and interim deposits; then 60% and 80% tiers; under 6 weeks: 100%.
Visit Adventure Peaks ↗

Policy from: adventurepeaks.com, adventurepeaks.com

Much Better Adventures

Based
London, UK
Programs
2
Deposit
10% to book (limited exceptions), the rest in instalments.
Refunds
Cancel more than 65 days out and the deposit becomes account credit; 31–64 days 50% charge; within 30 days no refund. Your booking's own terms govern.
Visit Much Better Adventures ↗

Policy from: help.muchbetteradventures.com, muchbetteradventures.com

Mountain Kingdoms

Based
Cheltenham, UK
Programs
4
Deposit
£400 per person; £1,000 if departure is within 60 days.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Mountain Kingdoms ↗

Policy from: mountainkingdoms.com, mountainkingdoms.com

G Adventures

Based
Toronto, Canada
Programs
1
Deposit
A travel-agent FAQ about five years old gives USD/CAD/EUR 250 per person; current amounts are in the booking terms, which we did not find.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit G Adventures ↗

Policy from: gadventures.com, gadventures.com, gadventures.com

Intrepid Travel

Based
Melbourne, Australia
Programs
1

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Intrepid ↗

Policy from: intrepidtravel.com, intrepidtravel.com

Alpine Ascents International

Based
Seattle, WA, USA
Programs
2
Deposit
$700 at registration, including a $300 non-refundable registration fee.
Refunds
120+ days out: full refund less the registration fee. 90–119 days: 50% less the fee. 89 days or closer: nothing. In writing only.
Private
Private EBC treks are offered on your own dates; no price published.
Visit Alpine Ascents ↗

Policy from: alpineascents.com, alpineascents.com, alpineascents.com

Mountain Madness

Based
Seattle, WA, USA
Programs
4
Deposit
Deposit by credit card, including a non-refundable registration fee; amount not found. Balance due 120 days before departure.
Refunds
International trips: cancel 121+ days out for a full refund less the registration fee; 120 days or less, nothing. Himalayan peak permits are named as non-refundable costs.
Visit Mountain Madness ↗

Policy from: mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com

Madison Mountaineering

Based
Seattle, WA, USA
Programs
2
Deposit
$1,500 for EBC, $2,000 for Island Peak, $2,200 for Gokyo Ri / Lobuche / Island Peak. Balance due 120 days out.
Refunds
Island Peak: no refunds of deposit or balance, including when weather, route conditions or staffing stop the climb. Madison says it may waive fees in some cases.
Visit Madison ↗

Policy from: madisonmountaineering.com, madisonmountaineering.com

Himalayan Glacier

Based
Kathmandu, Nepal / Baltimore, MD, USA
Programs
3
Deposit
25%, kept as a 'Lifetime Deposit Credit' and refunded in cash only in narrow cases.
Refunds
Group treks: balance fully refunded 61+ days out; no cash refund within 14 days. Other trip types use a 91-day threshold.
Visit Himalayan Glacier ↗

Policy from: himalayanglacier.com, himalayanglacier.com

Ace the Himalaya

Based
Kathmandu, Nepal
Programs
4
Deposit
20% of the trip price, non-refundable (kept as lifetime credit). Balance 30 days before departure.
Refunds
Cancel in writing 20+ days before departure: 20% kept, the rest refunded.
Private
Prices fall with group size; a solo traveller pays the 1-person rate.
Visit Ace the Himalaya ↗

Policy from: acethehimalaya.com, acethehimalaya.com

Get an email when bookings open

Nepal reprices park and peak fees often, and spring and autumn dates sell out. Get an email when we see new prices or 2027 dates.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Kathmandu, Nepal. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Everest Base Camp on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources