Longs Peak

Guided climbs · Longs Peak, 14,259 ft

Guided Longs Peak climbs, compared

The Keyhole is a 10–15 hour scramble that most people do unguided. A guide earns their fee on a 3 a.m. start from sea level, on the Cables or Kieners, or on anything in winter. Here is who will take you and what it costs.

4companies compared, 6 programs
$699cheapest published price, per person
1–2 daystrip length
Mid-Jul–mid-Septhe only window the Park treats the Keyhole as a summer route

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 6 ·
Colorado Mountain SchoolLongs Peak Climb (private)Keyhole or Kieners (summer or winter) · 1 day
1
$699–$849
Experience neededFor the Keyhole: able to hike 14 miles at altitude with a pack. No published prerequisite was found for Kieners or winter ascents.Private guided day. The route can be the Keyhole or Kieners, in summer or winter. An older CMS page showed $799 for 1 person and $649 per person for 2+, with a 4 a.m. standard meeting time.
Colorado Mountain SchoolThe Diamond – Casual RouteCasual Route, the Diamond (5.10a)
—
Not published, ask
Experience neededMust follow 5.10 trad efficiently, be experienced at lead belaying, and hike 5 miles each way with a heavy pack.CMS pages conflict. One lists $799 for 1–2 days with an optional bivy at Mills Glacier. Another lists $849 for 1 day. The price includes the guide, group gear, personal climbing gear, and group camping gear.
American Alpine InstituteLongs Peak Hiking & ClimbingKeyhole (bivy option in the Boulder Field) · 2 days
2
Varies (private pricing by party size and days)
Experience neededNo formal prerequisite. Climbers with previous experience may be able to skip the skills day.Runs year-round. Day 1 teaches rock-climbing basics. Day 2 is the summit day, starting at 3–4 a.m. A version with one night camped in the Boulder Field is also offered. Personal gear is not included, but you can rent it.
The Mountain Guides (Jackson Hole Mountain Guides)2-Day Longs Peak Climb2 days
2
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Overnight private climb.
Colorado Wilderness Rides and GuidesLongs Peak 14,259 ft (Long Day)Keyhole (hike) · 1 day
1
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Part of CWRG's long-day peak hikes (10–16 hours, pre-dawn start). Longs is run only from mid-July to mid-September. Park entrance fees are not included.
Colorado Wilderness Rides and GuidesLongs Peak Cables Route (Long Day)North Face / Cables Route · 1 day
1
Not published, ask
Experience neededFor clients with prior climbing experience.One technical pitch plus 4th/5th class scrambling, about 10–16 hours. Harness, helmet, shoes, and belay device are included. Park entrance fees are extra.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 19, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Longs Peak yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
Keyhole Route
Grade
Class 3 scramble
How long
10-15 hours round trip
Best season
Mid-July to early September (dry, snow-free conditions)
Permits
No permit is required for a single-day ascent, but Rocky Mountain National Park requires a timed-entry wilderness permit for overnight camping at the Boulder Field or Longs Peak backcountry sites.
Start from
Longs Peak Trailhead, 9,382 ft (2,860 m)
Climb from there
4,878 ft (1,487 m) of ascent over 7.25 mi one way
Getting there
The Longs Peak Trailhead is reached via Colorado Highway 7 south of Estes Park; its small parking lot routinely fills by 2-3 a.m. in peak summer season, forcing late arrivals to park along the highway. Nearest airport: Denver International Airport (DEN), Colorado.
Hazards
Afternoon lightning storms, significant exposure on the Narrows and Homestretch, rockfall from other parties, altitude
Gear
An alpine start before 3 a.m. is essential to summit and be off the exposed upper mountain before common afternoon thunderstorms; sturdy footwear and a helmet are recommended for the exposed Class 3 scrambling.

Keyhole Route

Line from OpenStreetMap; profile approximate. Map and GPX download →

Sources: nps.gov ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

Several companies can legally guide Longs, not only CMS. The NPS has awarded up to six contracts, but the current holders aren't published.

For a fit hiker, CMS's private Longs day ($699–$849) is the only guided Keyhole option with a published price.

If you're coming from sea level, a 2-day plan (AAI or The Mountain Guides) splits up a 10–15 hour round trip, but neither company publishes a firm current price.

Book mid-July to mid-September for a summer Keyhole. Any other time, NPS treats it as a winter mountaineering route.

The companies

Colorado Mountain School

Since
1981 · Estes Park & Boulder, CO
Programs
2
Refunds
Courses and custom guiding: cancel 30+ days out for a full refund minus a 15% processing fee, or full credit. 8–29 days out: credit minus 15%. Within 7 days: no refund or exchange. No refund for no-shows or leaving early. If CMS cancels for weather, low enrollment, or safety, you get a full refund or credit.
Private
Private mountaineering outings run 365 days a year, subject to guide availability. For bookings within 36 hours, call the office.
Contact
720-387-8944
Visit CMS ↗

Policy from: coloradomountainschool.com, coloradomountainschool.com, coloradomountainschool.com

American Alpine Institute

Based
Bellingham, WA
Programs
1
Private
Private price depends on the number of people and days.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit AAI ↗

Policy from: alpineinstitute.com, nps.gov

The Mountain Guides (Jackson Hole Mountain Guides)

Since
1968
Programs
1
Refunds
More than 2 months out: deposit refunded minus $70 (multi-day trips). 31–60 days out: you lose 50% of the deposit. Within 30 days: you owe the full trip price.
Private
Pricing is listed for 1:1, 2:1, and group trips.
Contact
307-733-4979
info@themountainguides.com
Visit The Mountain Guides ↗

Policy from: themountainguides.com, themountainguides.com

Colorado Wilderness Rides and Guides

Based
Boulder, CO
Programs
2
Private
Recommended tip is 20%, added automatically for groups of 6+. Denver hotel pickup is $150 per group.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit CWRG ↗

Policy from: coloradowildernessridesandguides.com, coloradowildernessridesandguides.com

Get an email when bookings open

Get an email when 2027 summer dates go up, and a reminder before the Keyhole season starts.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Longs Peak on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources