Mount Robson

Guided climbs · Mount Robson, 3,954 m

Guided Mount Robson climbs, compared

Nobody sells Robson off the shelf. Every guide we found prices the Kain Face as a private or 2:1 trip at a day rate, plus a helicopter to the Dome. Here is who guides it, how they run it, and what they ask of you first.

5companies compared, 5 programs
—nobody publishes a fixed price
5 daystrip length
14–16 htypical summit day on the Kain Face, slopes to 55°

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 5 ·
Yamnuska Mountain AdventuresClimb Mount RobsonKain Face via the Patterson · 5 days
5
Not published, ask
Experience neededDocumented prior mountaineering covering glacier travel, alpine rock, and steep snow and ice, approved by Yamnuska's operations team before booking; excellent fitness. If short on experience, take their advanced Alpine Ice course or at least 4 days of training with their guides first.Minimum 5-day commitment; guide fees plus expenses plus helicopter; quote on request. 1:1.
Altus Mountain GuidesMount Robson Kain FaceKain Face · 5 days
5
From $750/day
Experience neededPrevious mountaineering experience; have top-roped 5.6 minimum; able to keep moving for at least 10 hours; camping experience.5–7 days: 5-day version flies to base camp, 7-day version hikes in from the park gate. Mt Resplendent as backup objective. Not included: helicopter, park fees, food, tent/sleeping gear, mountaineering boots, valley lodging, travel to Valemount. +5% GST. Page does not say whether the day rate is per person or per guide.
Summit Mountain GuidesMount RobsonKain Face · 5 days
5
$2,200 pp (2 climbers); $3,450 solo — plus helicopter (old listing, ask)
Experience neededIntermediate–advanced: prior mountaineering on snow and ice, comfortable carrying a large overnight pack, high fitness. Technical climbing and altitude experience are assets.Includes pre-trip planning, technical gear, camp kitchen, dinners and breakfasts, park permits. First summit attempt ~day 3, second attempt possible day 4; summit day 14–16 h return. 3-day custom option.
Ridgeline GuidingMt. Robson (private)
—
From $950/day + expenses + GST
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.3–5 days; max 1:1. Helicopter-accessed; contact for details. General mountaineering day rate, not a Robson-specific price.
Alpinism.com (Mark Klassen, ACMG/IFMGA)Mt Robson, Kain Face (private guiding)Kain Face
—
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Listed as a guided objective; no rate, length or itinerary published.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 19, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. All prices in Canadian dollars. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Mount Robson yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
Kain Face (Kain Route)
Grade
Alpine Grade IV
How long
4-6 days total including the Berg Lake Trail approach
Best season
July-August (occasionally into September)
Permits
No separate technical climbing permit, but BC Parks requires a paid backcountry camping/reservation permit for the Berg Lake Trail approach through Mount Robson Provincial Park.
Start from
Mount Robson Visitor Centre / Berg Lake Trailhead (Kinney Lake Road, Hwy 16), 2,694 ft (821 m)
Climb from there
10,278 ft (3,133 m) of ascent
Getting there
Climbers approach via the Berg Lake Trail from the Kinney Lake trailhead, camping near Robson Pass before the glacier approach. Nearest airport: Prince George Airport (YXS), roughly 200 km / ~2.5 hr drive from Mount Robson Provincial Park.
Hazards
Notoriously fast-changing weather; only around 10% of attempts on the mountain succeed.
Gear
Full glacier travel and technical alpine gear required; BC Parks reservation needed for Berg Lake Trail camping; the mountain generates its own weather and is notorious for multi-day storm delays.

Kain Face

Line from OpenStreetMap; profile approximate. Map and GPX download →

Sources: bcparks.ca ↗bergadventures.com ↗yamnuska.com ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

Nobody sells Robson off the shelf: every operator quotes it as a private or 2:1 custom trip, so expect to price it as day rate × 5+ days plus a helicopter to the Dome.

Yamnuska and Ridgeline guide Robson strictly 1:1; Altus and Summit list 2:1, which roughly halves the per-person guiding cost but both climbers must sustain a 14–16 h summit day on 55° ice.

Book at least 5 days: every itinerary found builds in a spare summit day, and Yamnuska bills extra weather days at guide rates.

The companies

Yamnuska Mountain Adventures

Based
Canmore, AB
Programs
1
Deposit
35% of the cost once a date and guide are confirmed; full payment 8 weeks before the climb.
Refunds
General Yamnuska policy for programs $800+: cancel 57+ days out = full refund less $100 (+tax) admin fee and 4% service fee; 56–42 days out = 60% refunded; under 42 days or during the program = no refund. Cancellations must be by email.
Private
Robson is guided at a maximum 1:1 ratio by ACMG/IFMGA Mountain or Alpine Guides. Priced as guide fees plus expenses (transport, camping/gear, park fees, meals) plus any helicopter flights. Extra weather days are charged at guide rates.
Visit Yamnuska ↗

Policy from: yamnuska.com, yamnuska.com

Altus Mountain Guides

Programs
1
Deposit
20% deposit to secure guides/trip; balance due before the start (30 days per FAQ, 14 days per some participant pages).
Refunds
FAQ: deposit refunded if you cancel more than 30 days out; inside 30 days the full trip amount is forfeited. Some participant pages use a 3-tier version (deposit forfeited 30–14 days, everything forfeited under 14 days). Optional flexible-cancellation insurance at 12% of pre-tax price allows one free cancel/reschedule. Prices + 5% GST.
Private
Robson trip listed at a 2:1 guest-to-guide ratio, from $750/day.
Visit Altus ↗

Policy from: altusmountainguides.com, altusmountainguides.com

Summit Mountain Guides

Based
Nelson, BC
Programs
1
Private
Solo price listed ($3,450) alongside a 2-person rate; 3-day custom option.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Summit MG ↗

Policy from: summitmountainguides.com, summitmountainguides.com

Ridgeline Guiding

Programs
1
Deposit
Minimum 25% deposit when booking more than 30 days out.
Private
Private only, maximum 1:1 on Robson. Mountaineering day rate starts at $950/day (8–10 h day) plus extra persons, expenses, route surcharges and 5% GST.
Contact
(403) 679-9665
info@ridgelineguiding.com

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Ridgeline ↗

Policy from: ridgelineguiding.com, ridgelineguiding.com, ridgelineguiding.com

Alpinism.com (Mark Klassen, ACMG/IFMGA)

Based
Banff, AB
Programs
1
Private
Independent guide; first person to guide all 54 Canadian Rockies 11,000 ft peaks (2017). Robson Kain Face listed as an objective; no published rate found.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Alpinism ↗

Policy from: alpinism.com, alpinism.com

Get an email when bookings open

Berg Lake camping reservations open October 1 each year. Get an email before they do, and when any guide posts a Robson price.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Mount Robson Provincial Park, BC. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Mount Robson on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources