Mount Whitney

Guided climbs · Mount Whitney, 14,505 ft

Guided Mount Whitney climbs, compared

You can't hire these companies for the Whitney Trail. Guided Whitney means the Mountaineer's Route or the East Buttress, and only companies that already hold Forest Service permits can sell them.

2companies compared, 8 programs
$1,465cheapest published price, per person
3–7 daystrip length
Feb 1–Mar 1Whitney Zone permit lottery on Recreation.gov

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 8 ·
Sierra Mountain GuidesMount Whitney – Mountaineer's RouteMountaineer's Route (North Fork Lone Pine Creek) · 2026 price · 3 days
3
$1,465
Experience neededThe route has alpine rock up to Class 4. No formal prerequisite was published.2026 departures run June 18 to September 6. Day 1 is a strenuous approach past the Ebersbacher Ledges to high camp, and Day 2 is the summit. Before July 4 there is often snow in the gully.
Sierra Mountain GuidesMount Whitney – East Face / East ButtressEast Face or East Buttress (5.7) · 3 days
3
$1,465
Experience neededShort sections of 5.7. No formal prerequisite was published, but East Face climbers are screened.Minimum 2 climbers to run, maximum ratio 2:1. SMG screens climbers for the East Face because it is the more advanced guiding route.
Sierra Mountain GuidesMount Whitney – WinterWinter/Spring 2027 price
—
$1,885
Experience neededExcellent fitness. No specific skills prerequisite was published.Minimum 2 to run, maximum ratio 2:1. Takes longer than summer, with more gear to carry.
Sierra Mountain GuidesMt. Whitney & Mt. Russell4 days
4
$2,935
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Climbs both Whitney and Mt. Russell. The routes were not confirmed.
Sierra Mountain GuidesOnion Valley to Mt. Whitney and Beyond!Backpack from Onion Valley · 7 days
7
$2,090
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.A backpacking route that reaches the summit from Onion Valley rather than Whitney Portal.
SWS Mountain GuidesMt Whitney Mountaineer's RouteMountaineer's Route · 3 days
3
$1,695
Experience neededPrevious hiking and backpacking experience. No mountaineering experience needed.Starts in Lone Pine. Maximum 6 guests at 1:3. Typically guided late May through October. Permit fees are included. The route is steep off-trail hiking and scrambling, sometimes with crampons and an ice axe.
SWS Mountain GuidesMt Whitney East ButtressEast Buttress · 3 days
3
$1,895
Experience neededPrevious mountaineering experience, including multi-pitch rock climbing and climbing at altitude.Ratio 1:2. SWS recommends a guided rock day in the Alabama Hills first; an older PDF priced that day at $245.
SWS Mountain GuidesMt. Whitney Winter ClimbMountaineer's Route · 4 days
4
$2,195
Experience neededPrior winter experience and intermediate-to-advanced skills: knots, rope handling, ice axe and crampons, self-arrest. Carry a 45–65 lb pack and gain 500–600 ft per hour for 6–10 hours with a day pack. (The fitness figures come from SWS's 2023 itinerary PDF.)Usually starts from Lone Pine Campground because the Portal road is often closed. Ratio 1:2 or 1:3 depending on conditions. Permit fees are included.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 19, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Mount Whitney yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
Mount Whitney Trail
Grade
Class 1
How long
1-2 days as an overnight, or 12-18 hours as a single-day push
Best season
July-September (quota season runs May 1 - November 1)
Permits
Inyo National Forest wilderness permit required year-round for the Mount Whitney Zone; May 1-Nov 1 quota-season permits are allocated through a recreation.gov lottery (applications typically Feb 1-Mar 15).
Start from
Whitney Portal (Mt. Whitney Trailhead), 8,365 ft (2,550 m)
Climb from there
6,140 ft (1,871 m) of ascent over 11 mi one way
Getting there
Most climbers start from Whitney Portal, about 13 miles west of Lone Pine, via the Mount Whitney Trail. Nearest airport: No major commercial airport nearby; closest options are Eastern Sierra Regional Airport in Bishop (~60 mi, limited seasonal service) or Los Angeles/Reno-Tahoe International (~200 mi) for full service.
Hazards
Altitude sickness, afternoon thunderstorms and lightning above treeline, ice on the Trail Crest chute outside mid-summer.
Gear
Bear canister required for overnight permits; layered clothing for large elevation/temperature swings; ice axe and crampons often needed on the Trail Crest chute into early summer.

Mount Whitney Trail

Line from OpenStreetMap; profile approximate. Map and GPX download →

Sources: fs.usda.gov ↗recreation.gov ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

You can't hire a guide for the standard Whitney Trail from these companies. Guided Whitney means the Mountaineer's Route or the East Buttress/East Face.

For a strong backpacker on a first summer trip, the 3-day Mountaineer's Route costs $1,465 at SMG (2026 dates, max 2:1) or $1,695 at SWS (1:3).

East Buttress trips cost about the same as the Mountaineer's Route at SMG ($1,465), so if you already follow 5.7 multi-pitch, SMG's 2:1 rock trip is good value.

Cancellation windows are short. SWS refunds nothing within 30 days, and SMG charges 50% at 14–30 days and the full fee under 14 days.

The companies

Sierra Mountain Guides

Programs
5
Refunds
Trips in the lower 48 states: cancel 30+ days out for a refund minus $100 per booking. 14–30 days out: you owe 50% of the fee. Under 14 days: you owe the full fee. If SMG cancels for conditions, you can reschedule at no extra cost or request a refund in writing.
Private
Scheduled Whitney trips need at least 2 climbers to run, with a maximum 2:1 guide ratio.
Visit SMG ↗

Policy from: sierramtnguides.com, sierramtnguides.com

SWS Mountain Guides

Based
Mt. Shasta, CA
Programs
3
Deposit
Domestic trips: a non-refundable deposit per reservation (amount not stated), with the balance due 30 days before the start.
Refunds
Cancel more than 30 days out: you get back what you paid minus the deposit. Within 30 days: no refund.
Private
Private and custom climbs are offered. The summer Mountaineer's Route runs at 1:3 and the East Buttress at 1:2.
Contact
888-797-6867
Visit SWS ↗

Policy from: swsmtns.com, swsmtns.com, swsmtns.com

Get an email when bookings open

The Whitney permit lottery opens February 1. Get an email the week before, and when 2027 guided dates go up.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Lone Pine, California. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Mount Whitney on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources