Mount Fuji

Guided treks & climbs · Mount Fuji, 3,776 m

Guided Mount Fuji climbs, compared

Overnight sunrise climbs with a mountain-hut night, one-day climbs and a few off-season options, from ten Japanese guide companies, Tokyo tour firms and international booking sites. A seat on a big group bus tour costs ¥37,400–¥48,000. Small-group specialists charge about ¥67,000–¥74,000, and a private guide costs ¥125,000–¥500,000 per group. Every trail now charges a ¥4,000 fee, and some tour prices include it while others don't.

10companies compared, 27 programs
¥29,000cheapest published price, per person
1–3 daystrip length
¥4,000the trail fee on every route since 2025; the Yoshida trail also caps day entries at 4,000

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 27 ·
Fuji Mountain GuidesSunrise Summit 2-Day Tour (group)Subashiri trail, hut at the 8th (3,400 m) or 7.5th station · 25 Jun–10 Sep price · 2 days
2
¥73,900 + ¥4,000 climbing permit
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Tax included. English-speaking mountain guides, round-trip transport from Tokyo, hut night and two hot meals (Day 1 dinner, Day 2 breakfast). The group leaves the hut for the summit between 01:30 and 03:30, with sunrise 04:00–05:00. FMG arranges the ¥4,000 permit. Groups of up to 20 with 3–4 guides.
Fuji Mountain GuidesIn-Season Private 2-Day TourAgreed with the guide · 25 Jun–10 Sep price · 2 days
2
¥105,000–¥359,000 per person by group size
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.¥359,000 for one person, down to ¥105,000 per person for groups of 7–9.
Fuji Mountain GuidesOne Day Mt. Fuji TourSummit and back in a day · 25 Jun–25 Oct price · 1 day
1
¥49,000–¥219,000 per person by group size
Experience neededFit hikers: summit in one day with no hut night.¥219,000 for one person, down to ¥49,000 per person for 10+. Pick-up in Tokyo or elsewhere around Fuji is ¥50,000 extra each way.
Fuji Mountain GuidesThree Day Fuji Discovery TripFuji summit plus surrounding area · 25 Jun–10 Sep price · 3 days
3
¥159,000–¥499,000 per person by group size
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.¥499,000 for one person, down to ¥159,000 per person for 9+. Drop-off outside the Gotemba area is ¥50,000 extra.
Fuji Mountain GuidesOff Season 2-Day Tour (group)Subashiri side, after the official season · 11 Sep–10 Oct price · 2 days
2
¥72,000
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Tax included. Runs after the official season closes; the general terms carry a 4-participant minimum.
Fuji Mountain GuidesOff-Season Private 2-Day TourSubashiri trail, hut at 3,000 m (7th station) · 11 Sep–10 Oct price · 2 days
2
¥119,000–¥319,000 per person by group size
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.¥319,000 solo, ¥179,000 per person for 2, ¥119,000 per person for 4–6. Taxes and fees included, with free Gotemba-area pick-up. Tokyo, Hakone or Kawaguchiko pick-up is ¥50,000 extra each way.
Fuji Mountain GuidesHoei Summit TraverseHoei crater (2,693 m), not the main summit · 1 day
1
¥29,000
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person for groups of 1–8, all taxes included.
Mt. Fuji Guides (formerly Fuji Outdoor)2 Day Sunrise Climb (small group)Hut night, summit sunrise · 10 Jul–9 Sep 2026 price · 2 days
2
¥67,100
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person, tax included. 1:6 guide ratio, maximum 12, minimum 4. Hut night and two hot meals.
Mt. Fuji Guides (formerly Fuji Outdoor)Private Mt. Fuji Tour (1 or 2 days)Pick-up from Shinjuku or Gotemba · 10 Jul–10 Sep 2026 price · 2 days
2
¥285,000 + 10% tax for 1 person; +¥35,000 per extra guest
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Up to 6 guests. Hut night, meals and fee registration included. Another page says from ¥242,000 including tax (see conflicts).
Japan Exploration Tours JIN2 Day Private TourYoshida trail, 5th station to summit and crater walk · Summer; 2026 sold out price · 2 days
2
¥320,000 (1 person) to ¥780,000 (8 people), per group
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Tax included. ¥380,000 for 2, ¥500,000 for 4. Guide, online consultation, transport, hut and meals included.
Japan Exploration Tours JIN3 Day Private TourAgreed with the guide · Summer; 2026 sold out price · 3 days
3
¥420,000 (1 person) to ¥1,110,000 (8 people), per group
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.¥510,000 for 2, ¥690,000 for 4. An older example on the same page gives ¥640,000 for 4.
Japan Exploration Tours JIN3 Day Pilgrimage Tour (group)Pilgrim-style ascent over 3 days · 2026 calendar price · 3 days
3
¥160,000
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person, 2–8 guests. One 2026 date was listed at a discounted ¥129,800.
My Tokyo Guide2-Day Bullet Train ClimbFrom Shin-Fuji station to the 5th station · 2 days
2
¥48,000 + 10% tax
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person. Round-trip transfer between Shin-Fuji station and the 5th station, hut night, dinner and breakfast, an English/Japanese-speaking mountain guide and a summit certificate. The ¥4,000 fee is extra.
My Tokyo GuidePrivate Mt. Fuji ClimbAgreed with the guide
—
¥89,000–¥139,000 per person by group size, + 10% tax
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.¥139,000 each for 2, ¥99,000 for 3, ¥89,000 for 4+. Excludes tax and the ¥4,000 fee; +¥2,000 per person on Fri–Sun, holidays and 4–18 Aug. The page doesn't make clear whether these are 1-day or 2-day rates.
My Tokyo GuideOff-Season Private ClimbOne day, from Shin-Fuji station · Late Apr–late Jun; snow from late Oct price · 1 day
1
Price on request
Experience neededSnow and ice on the upper trail outside summer.Private only in the off-season. The page links to a price list we could not read.
FUJI SUNRISE2 Days Mt. Fuji Climb – Fujinomiya routeFujinomiya trail · 10 Jul–10 Sep price · 2 days
2
Guide fee ¥125,000 (1 person) to ¥200,000 (7), per group
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Guide fee only. Excludes huts (¥11,000–¥13,000), the ¥4,000 admission fee and the guide's lodging. Summit sunrise must be requested in advance.
FUJI SUNRISE2 Days Mt. Fuji Climb – Gotemba / Subashiri routeGotemba or Subashiri trail · 10 Jul–10 Sep price · 2 days
2
Guide fee from ¥125,000 (1 person), per group
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Guide fee only. Excludes shuttle bus fares, admission, insurance and the guide's lodging. Minimum age 7.
FUJI SUNRISESunrise HikeAbove the tree line to Futatsuzuka (not the summit) · 1 day
1
¥50,000 for 1–2; ¥62,000 for 3; ¥74,000 for 4
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per group. Hotel pick-up is ¥3,300. The sample schedule is from November.
WILLER TRAVEL (Wander Japan)Mt. Fuji Climbing (Wander Japan)Yoshida trail, Tomoekan hut at the original 8th station · 1 Jul–9 Sep 2026 (sold out) price · 2 days
2
From ¥60,000 (2025 price)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.2025 press release: standard plan from ¥60,000, private room from ¥63,000, with gear rental from ¥72,000. Includes the round-trip bus from Shinjuku to the 5th station, the entrance fee, hut night and two meals. Mountain guides come from the Fujiyoshida guide association, with an English-speaking coordinator. No 2026 price on the English page we could read.
JAPANiCAN (JTB)2-Day World Heritage Mt. Fuji Climbing Tour7th-station hut, summit sunrise, hot spring · 2 days
2
¥37,400–¥41,800
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person. A Japanese-speaking mountain guide, a government-licensed English guide-interpreter and a tour conductor go along. Hut lodging, round-trip bus from Tokyo, hot-spring entry, one dinner and one breakfast included; lunches and accident insurance are not. 1–20 guests.
VELTRAMt. Fuji Climbing Tour from Tokyo via Yoshida TrailYoshida trail, hut night · 2 days
2
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per adult, minimum 15 participants. Sold out for 2026, so no price is shown.
VELTRA2-Day Climbing Tour from Tokyo via Fujinomiya TrailFujinomiya trail, Mannenyuki Sanso hut, hot spring · 2 days
2
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person, minimum 15. Breakfast and dinner only. The ¥4,000 fee is not included. Sold out for 2026, so no price is shown.
Explore-Share2-day Mount Fuji Climb, Private GuidingJMGA guide · Summer season price · 2 days
2
From ¥53,395 per person
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Hut not included: about ¥15,000 per person (¥14,300 in late June and mid-September to early October). Bring cash for toilets.
Explore-Share2-Day Mount Fuji Off-Season Ascent (September–October)Subashiri trail, hut at 3,000 m, group or private · 11 Sep–10 Oct price · 2 days
2
From ¥113,514 per person (7–8 people); ¥344,865 for one
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Listed by Japan Guides Group. Guides, transport, a hut night at 3,000 m and three meals included. The per-person price falls with group size, up to 8.
Explore-ShareMount Fuji off-season climb (mid-April to early June)One day, certified guide · Mid-Apr–early Jun price · 1 day
1
Price not confirmed
Experience neededSnow and ice; ask the guide what experience and kit you need.Spring climb on snow. The listing prices we saw could not be tied reliably to this page.
GetYourGuide2-Day Mt. Fuji Summit Climb w/ 8th Station & English Guide8th-station hut · 2 days
2
$368
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person. Round-trip bus, certified guide, hut night, dinner and breakfast. Gear rental extra, no hotel pick-up.
GetYourGuideMt. Fuji: 2-Day Climb with Hut Stay, Meals, and Hot SpringsHut night, hot spring · 2 days
2
$452
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 22, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices are in each company’s own currency; sorting by price uses rough exchange rates. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Mount Fuji yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
Yoshida Trail
Grade
Non-technical hike; steep volcanic scree switchbacks above the 8th station
How long
5-7 hours up, 3-4 hours down
Best season
Early July-early September (official climbing season; discouraged October-May)
Permits
Since 2024, Yamanashi Prefecture charges a mandatory 2,000 yen fee and requires a reservation for the Yoshida Trail, with a 4,000-hiker daily cap and gate closure overnight (except for hut guests).
Start from
Fuji Subaru Line 5th Station, 7,562 ft (2,305 m)
Climb from there
4,827 ft (1,471 m) of ascent over 4.3 mi one way
Getting there
Most climbers on the Yoshida Trail base out of Fujiyoshida, taking a bus to the Fuji Subaru Line 5th Station before an overnight hut stay and a pre-dawn summit push to see the sunrise (goraiko). Nearest airport: Mt. Fuji Shizuoka Airport, about 80 km away; Tokyo's Haneda and Narita airports (roughly 3 hours 15 minutes away) are the more commonly used international gateways..
Hazards
Altitude sickness, overcrowding bottlenecks near the summit at sunrise, hypothermia and high winds, and falling rock.
Gear
Layered clothing for large temperature swings, headlamp, trekking poles, and rain gear; no technical climbing gear is needed on the standard trails, and camping above the 5th station is prohibited inside the national park.

Yoshida Trail

Line from OpenStreetMap; profile approximate. Map and GPX download →

Sources: fujisan-climb.jp ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

The cheapest guided summit is a seat on a big bus tour: JAPANiCAN's costs ¥37,400–¥41,800. VELTRA's 15-person bus climbs are sold out for 2026 and show no price. Small-group specialists cost almost twice as much: Fuji Mountain Guides ¥73,900 plus the ¥4,000 permit, Mt. Fuji Guides ¥67,100 at 1:6.

Check the ¥4,000 trail fee. It now applies on all four trails. Fuji Mountain Guides adds it on top, My Tokyo Guide and VELTRA's Fujinomiya tour exclude it, and WILLER includes it. A ¥4,000 gap can be the whole difference between two tours.

Every overnight tour here is a hut tour. With the 14:00–03:00 entry rule on both sides of the mountain, the old night-time 'bullet climb' without a hut is off the table. The alternative is a one-day climb (Fuji Mountain Guides from ¥49,000 a head in a big group), which is for fit hikers only.

Private prices vary widely. For a solo climber, JIN charges ¥320,000, Fuji Mountain Guides ¥359,000 and Mt. Fuji Guides ¥285,000 plus tax. Fuji Sunrise's guide fee starts at ¥125,000, but huts, the trail fee and the guide's lodging are extra. Fill a group of four or more and per-head prices fall to about ¥89,000–¥125,000.

Outside July–September, few companies here guide Fuji. Fuji Mountain Guides runs group (¥72,000) and private climbs from 11 September to 10 October. My Tokyo Guide and Explore-Share guides take private spring and autumn climbs, on snow and with the huts shut.

Book early. WILLER and JIN's private 2-day and 3-day climbs were sold out for summer 2026.

The companies

Fuji Mountain Guides

Based
Gotemba, Shizuoka (prices in JPY)
Programs
7
Refunds
Cancellation fee from written notice: 10% at 60+ days, 25% at 31–59 days, 50% at 21–30 days, 80% at 14–20 days, 100% under 14 days, with no exceptions. Full refund if FMG cancels before the start for typhoons, dangerously high winds or fewer than 4 participants. Partial refunds (50% / 75%) are tied to JMA alert levels 2 and 3. Hut-only bookings have their own fees (100% same day, 80% one day out, 50% at 2–9 days).
Private
Private 2-day climbs in season and off-season, priced per person by group size. Pick-up outside the Gotemba area is ¥50,000 each way.
Visit Fuji Mountain Guides ↗

Policy from: fujimountainguides.com, fujimountainguides.com, fujimountainguides.com, fujimountainguides.com

Mt. Fuji Guides (formerly Fuji Outdoor)

Based
Fuji area (prices in JPY)
Programs
2
Refunds
No customer cancellation terms in what we could read. Climbs are cancelled or halted for official government warnings (e.g. typhoon warnings) or road closures to the 5th stations.
Private
Private 1- or 2-day climbs for up to 6 guests, hut, meals and fee registration included.
Visit Mt. Fuji Guides ↗

Policy from: fujioutdoor.com, fujioutdoor.com, fujioutdoor.com, fujioutdoor.com

Japan Exploration Tours JIN

Based
Fujiyoshida, Yamanashi (prices in JPY)
Programs
3
Deposit
Non-refundable deposit of ¥20,000 per person (Japanese inquiry page). Full payment is due with the deposit inside a month of departure.
Refunds
30–8 days out: the greater of 20% or ¥20,000 per person; 7–3 days: 50%; 2 days or fewer: 100% (Japanese inquiry page).
Private
Private tours for 1–8 people, one guide per 8; 9–16 people as a 'Private Group Tour' with two English-speaking guides.
Visit JIN ↗

Policy from: jet-jin.com, jet-jin.com, jet-jin.com

My Tokyo Guide

Based
Shin-Fuji, Shizuoka (prices in JPY)
Programs
3
Private
Private climbs priced per person by group size, plus 10% tax and the ¥4,000 fee; off-season climbs are private only.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit My Tokyo Guide ↗

Policy from: mytokyoguide.com, mytokyoguide.com, mytokyoguide.com, mytokyoguide.com

FUJI SUNRISE

Based
Fujinomiya, Shizuoka (prices in JPY)
Programs
3
Age
Minimum age 7 on the 2-day summit climbs. Summit sunrise is not recommended for groups with a child.
Private
Private guiding; prices are guide fees per group of 1–7, and you pay hut, fee and the guide's lodging on top.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Fuji Sunrise ↗

Policy from: fujisunrise.com, fujisunrise.com, fujisunrise.com

WILLER TRAVEL (Wander Japan)

Based
Tokyo (prices in JPY)
Programs
1
Private
WILLER first offered a private-group-only Fuji climb in 2024.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit WILLER ↗

Policy from: willer-travel.com, willer.co.jp, willer.co.jp

JAPANiCAN (JTB)

Based
Tokyo (prices in JPY)
Programs
1
Age
Minimum age 6.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit JAPANiCAN ↗

Policy from: japanican.com

VELTRA

Based
Tokyo-based booking site (prices in JPY)
Programs
2
Refunds
Big-bus tours need 15 participants. If the minimum isn't met, you're told 14 days before departure.
Visit VELTRA ↗

Policy from: veltra.com, veltra.com

Explore-Share

Based
Booking site for independent guides (Japanese JMGA-certified guides on Fuji)
Programs
3
Private
Most Fuji listings are private, priced per person by group size. Insurance is excluded, and one guide adds ¥25,000 per group at weekends and holidays.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Explore-Share ↗

Policy from: explore-share.com, explore-share.com

GetYourGuide

Based
Berlin-based booking site (prices in USD)
Programs
2

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit GetYourGuide ↗

Policy from: getyourguide.com

Get an email when bookings open

The 2026 season closed on 10 September, and several 2026 tours (WILLER, JIN private climbs) sold out. Get an email when 2027 dates and prices are posted.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Tokyo / Fujiyoshida, Japan. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Mount Fuji on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources