Mount Adams

Guided climbs · Mount Adams, 12,281 ft

Guided Mount Adams climbs, compared

The South Spur is a long, non-technical snow climb, which makes Adams a common first Cascade volcano. Four companies run it, two of them also as a ski descent. Their prices include very different things, so read the notes.

4companies compared, 8 programs
$700cheapest published price, per person
2–7 daystrip length
$20Mt. Adams Climbing Pass per person, May 1–Sep 30

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 8 ·
Alpine Ascents InternationalMount Adams ClimbSouth Spur (South Side), camp at Lunch Counter ~9,250 ft · 2027 price · 2 days
2
$975
Experience neededOpen to physically fit novices; prior backpacking and camping highly recommended. Alpine Ascents says most people need 3–6 months of training.2027 dates June 16–July 22. Includes climbing permit and parking pass, guide and wilderness fees, and group gear; transport not included.
Mountain MadnessMount AdamsSouth Spur · 3 days
3
$1,125
Experience neededBeginner. No prior climbing experience; good physical condition; some backpacking experience highly recommended.Includes transportation, tents and food.
Mountain MadnessCascade ExpressMount Adams + Mount Baker + Mount Shuksan · 7 days
7
$2,995
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Three peaks in one trip. Includes transportation, tents and food. Minimum 2 participants.
Northwest Mountain SchoolMt. Adams Summit Climb (custom)South Spur (Adams Glacier also offered, best as 3 days) · 2026 price · 2 days
2
$700–$1,200
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.$1,200 each with 2 climbers, $800 with 3, $700 with 4. Excludes transport, personal food and the climbing pass. No set-date trips planned for summer 2026; custom trips possible for 3+ climbers, Monday–Friday only. Meets at the Mt. Adams Ranger Station, Trout Lake.
American Alpine InstituteMt. Adams Skills and Climb (3-day)South side · 3 days
3
Call for price
Experience neededPrevious backpacking experience. Must carry a 45–55 lb pack for several hours and hike 8+ hours.5:1 ratio. May–September. Private rates apply.
American Alpine InstituteMt. Adams Skills and Climb (4-day)4 days
4
Call for price
Experience neededGlacier travel and ice-climbing experience. Must carry a 45–55 lb pack for several hours and hike 8+ hours.2:1 or 4:2 ratio. May–September. Private rates apply.
Alpine Ascents InternationalMount Adams Ski DescentSouth Side · Jun 9–10, 2027 price · 2 days
2
$1,225
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.$100 off when booked with the Backcountry Ski Seminar. Climbing pass, guide fees and one dinner and breakfast included. Training page benchmark: carry 50+ lb from Cold Springs to Lunch Counter in 5–6 hours.
Northwest Mountain SchoolMt. Adams Ski DescentSouth Side · 2026 price · 2 days
2
$995
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.2026 set dates were June 1–2 and June 4–5, now past. Monday–Friday only.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 19, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Mount Adams yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
South Climb (South Spur)
Grade
Class 2-3
How long
1-2 days (commonly climbed car-to-car in a long day or with a high camp)
Best season
Late May through September
Permits
A Mt. Adams Climbing Pass (via recreation.gov) is required for anyone 16+ traveling above 7,000 ft from May 1 to September 30; a free self-issued wilderness permit is required at other times/elevations. A separate Cascades Volcano Pass covers Sno-Park/trailhead parking.
Start from
Cold Springs Trailhead (South Climb Trail #183), 5,555 ft (1,693 m)
Climb from there
6,700 ft (2,042 m) of ascent over 6 mi one way
Getting there
Trout Lake is the last services stop before the Cold Springs trailhead, roughly a 90-minute drive from the trailhead to the South Climb route; the trailhead road is gravel and can require high-clearance vehicles early in the season. Nearest airport: Portland International Airport (PDX).
Hazards
Glissading injuries, rockfall on the upper slopes, sudden weather changes, and crevasses late-season on the Crescent/Mazama glaciers
Gear
Ice axe, crampons, helmet, sun protection, and a climbing pass are the essentials for the South Climb; glacier travel gear (rope, crevasse rescue kit) is required for the Adams Glacier or North Ridge routes.

South Climb (South Spur)

Line from OpenStreetMap; profile approximate. Map and GPX download →

Sources: recreation.gov ↗fs.usda.gov ↗mountainschool.com ↗alpineascents.com ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

Alpine Ascents is the cheapest scheduled novice trip ($975, 2 days), and its price includes the $20 climbing pass. Mountain Madness costs $150 more but adds a third day plus transport and food.

Northwest Mountain School is the cheapest per head with 4 friends ($700 each), but the pass and your food are extra, every dollar is non-refundable, and it isn't running set dates in 2026.

Plan for a weekday trip. One operator says USFS rules bar guided parties from camping on the South Climb on Friday, Saturday or Sunday nights.

Refunds are tight everywhere: nothing back inside 89 days (Alpine Ascents), 120 days (Mountain Madness, AAI), or ever (NWMS). Buy trip insurance.

The companies

Alpine Ascents International

Programs
2
Deposit
$500 deposit at registration, of which $300 is a non-refundable registration fee. Balance due 120 days before the climb. 3% surcharge for card payments.
Refunds
120+ days out: full refund minus the registration fee. 90–119 days: 50% refund. 89 days or less: no refund. Cancellations must be sent by email. No refund for not reaching the summit.
Visit Alpine Ascents ↗

Policy from: alpineascents.com, alpineascents.com, alpineascents.com, alpineascents.com

Mountain Madness

Programs
2
Deposit
A spot is held once the deposit is paid by credit card. The deposit includes a non-refundable registration fee (amount not found). For US trips the balance is due 90 days before departure.
Refunds
121+ days before departure: refund minus the registration fee. 120 days or less: no refund.
Private
Washington custom trips: $675 per person per day at 1:1 ($695 overnight), $495 at 2:1. Includes guide, on-mountain meals, tents and group gear.
Visit Mountain Madness ↗

Policy from: mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com

Northwest Mountain School

Since
1994 · Leavenworth, WA
Programs
2
Deposit
25% deposit reserves a space on any NMS trip.
Refunds
All deposits and final payments are non-refundable; payments are also non-transferable after their due date.
Private
Custom 2-day Adams climb: $1,200 each (2 climbers), $800 each (3), $700 each (4). Day rates: $600/day at 2:1, $400 at 3:1, $350 at 4:1 or 5:1.
Contact
509-548-5823
Visit NW Mountain School ↗

Policy from: mountainschool.com, mountainschool.com, mountainschool.com, mountainschool.com

American Alpine Institute

Programs
2
Deposit
$500 registration fee, non-refundable.
Refunds
Domestic schedule: more than 150 days out, tuition beyond the $500 fee is refunded. 150–120 days: AAI keeps the fee plus half the remaining tuition. Under 120 days: no refund. Requests must be in writing.
Private
Mt. Adams Skills and Climb is bookable privately with custom dates; price on request.
Visit AAI ↗

Policy from: alpineinstitute.com, alpineinstitute.com, alpineinstitute.com

Get an email when bookings open

Get an email when 2027 Adams dates and prices are posted.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Trout Lake, Washington. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Mount Adams on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources