Kilimanjaro

Guided climbs · Kilimanjaro, 5,895 m

Guided Kilimanjaro climbs, compared

You can't climb Kilimanjaro without a licensed operator, so everyone buys a guided trip. The same route and the same number of days cost about $2,050 to $3,000 from a Tanzanian company and $5,700 to $10,500 from a US outfitter. Tips for the crew are never in the price.

13companies compared, 40 programs
$2,059cheapest published price, per person
6–15 daystrip length
Licensed operatorrequired by the park. Solo trekking is not allowed

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 40 ·
Alpine Ascents InternationalMount Kilimanjaro – Machame (climb only)Machame · Winter 2026–27 price
—
$5,950
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Climb + safari is $9,100. Summer 2027 is cheaper: $5,290 climb only, $8,440 with safari. Mountain meals are included. Alpine Ascents suggests a crew tip pool of $250–$350 per climber on top. It says recent increases come from new Tanzanian park fees. Trip length was not stated on the price page.
Alpine Ascents InternationalMount Kilimanjaro – 9-Day Lemosho (climb only)Lemosho, with a crater-floor night after the summit · Winter 2026–27 price · 9 days
9
$7,500
Experience neededAlpine Ascents says it is 'geared toward the very fit trekker/climber.'Climb + safari is $10,650. Suggested crew tips: $400 per climber. '9-day' is Alpine Ascents' name; total trip length with travel days was not stated.
Mountain MadnessKilimanjaro Guided Climb (climb only)Lemosho via the Shira Plateau, with a crater camp on day 9 · 12 days
12
$8,325
Experience neededAdvanced Beginner. 5–8 hours of trekking a day with big elevation gains. Mountain Madness suggests four 1-hour workouts a week beforehand.12 days including travel time. Park fees included. Moved from the Western Breach to Lemosho after park closures, with the same length and still a crater night. Single room +$600. Custom dates only.
Mountain MadnessKilimanjaro Guided Climb & SafariLemosho via the Shira Plateau · 15 days
15
$10,475
Experience neededAdvanced Beginner (as above).The climb above plus a safari. Park fees included. Single room +$900. A 17-day version that adds the Serengeti is $11,975.
RMI ExpeditionsKilimanjaro Climb (climb only)Machame · 2026 price · 12 days
12
$7,600
Experience neededRMI rates it variously as Level 2, Beginner and Intermediate on different pages.Seven days on the mountain. Summit day runs 12–14 hours. The land cost includes park entrance fees, hotels, African guides, cooks, porters and in-country group transport.
RMI ExpeditionsKilimanjaro – Climb & SafariMachame · 2026 price · 15 days
15
$8,500
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.The 12-day climb plus a safari. Same inclusions as climb only.
Madison MountaineeringKilimanjaro ExpeditionMachame · Dec 2026–2027 price · 13 days
13
$5,700 climb only / $8,450 with safari
Experience neededNon-technical high-altitude trek: no crampons or rock climbing (unless the team chooses to scramble the Lava Tower).13-day trip with a safari from day 10 (Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro). Climb only is $5,700; its length was not stated. Prices assume a minimum group of 4.
Intrepid TravelKilimanjaro: Marangu RouteMarangu · Nov 2026 price · 8 days
8
$2,448 (sale; regular $3,060)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.The $2,448 is a sale price on the cheapest date (14 Nov 2026). Prices vary by date and by regional site.
Intrepid TravelKilimanjaro: Machame RouteMachame · 2027 price · 8 days
8
From $2,940
Experience neededNo mountaineering experience needed, but you must handle 6–8 hours uphill a day.Cheapest date 27 Feb 2027. Includes park entrance and climbing fees, tented camps, rescue services, emergency oxygen, and one porter-carried bag (9 kg max). Tips were not mentioned.
G AdventuresMt Kilimanjaro Trek – Marangu RouteMarangu · 7 days
7
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.7-day trip with 5 days on the mountain. No departure dates or price are listed for the rest of this season. G Adventures' FAQ suggests $200–$300 per climber in tips for 5–7 day treks.
G AdventuresMt Kilimanjaro Trek – Machame Route (8 Days)Machame · 8 days
8
$2,549 (sale; regular $3,399)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.8-day trip. The FAQ says Machame runs as a 6- or 7-day hike on the mountain. Tips extra.
G AdventuresMt Kilimanjaro Trek – Lemosho RouteLemosho · Jan 2027 price · 10 days
10
$3,787 (sale; regular $5,049)
Experience neededPhysical grade 5 (Challenging). 'Attainable for a moderately fit person' and not very technical. Age 12+.Moshi to Moshi, 8 days on the mountain. The $3,787 is a 25%-off sale price valid on 14 Jan 2027. Max group 12. Porters carry up to 15 kg of your gear, weighed by the park.
G AdventuresMt Kilimanjaro Trek – Rongai RouteRongai · 8 days
8
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Moshi to Moshi, 6 days on the mountain (per the FAQ). Price not found. This page suggests $150–$200 per climber in tips, less than the FAQ's $200–$300, and budgets $70–$95 for meals not included.
Exodus Adventure TravelsKilimanjaro Climb – Lemosho RouteLemosho · 10 days
10
£3,895 (excl. flights)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.8 days walking with full porterage. Includes all accommodation, all breakfasts, 8 lunches, 9 dinners, transport, tour leader and the Kilimanjaro park fee. Lunches on days 1 and 10 are not included (budget $30–$50). Single supplement +£425. Other dates £4,155. The US site shows $5,910 and up.
Exodus Adventure TravelsKilimanjaro Climb – Rongai RouteRongai · 8 days
8
From £3,119
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Six days of walking. The US site shows $4,979.
Ultimate Kilimanjaro8-Day Lemosho (group climb)Lemosho · 2026–2027 price · 8 days
8
$3,299
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Includes park fees, mountain meals and hotels before and after (2 nights in Moshi). Flights, some meals, gear and tips are extra. Most 2026 dates are closed, and 2027 has one Lemosho group (Aug 28–Sep 6). Airport transfers $45 each way. Suggested tips: $175–$225 per climber for 7 days, following KPAP guidance. A 9-day daytime-summit group was $3,629 in 2026.
Ultimate Kilimanjaro9-Day Northern Circuit (group climb)Northern Circuit · 2027 price · 9 days
9
$3,649
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.The main 2027 group route. Max 14, guaranteed to run. Includes park fees and 2 hotel nights. Extra porter $30/day. Suggested tips $225–$290 per climber for 9 days. Private: $5,859 solo, $4,599 each for two.
Ultimate Kilimanjaro7-Day Machame (private climb)Machame · 2026–2027 price · 7 days
7
$2,779–$4,539
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person: $4,539 solo, $3,649 for two, $2,779 for 10+. Includes 2 hotel nights in Moshi, trailhead transport, park fees and crew. An 8-day daytime-summit Machame is $4,989 solo.
Ultimate Kilimanjaro8-Day Lemosho (private climb)Lemosho · 2026–2027 price · 8 days
8
$3,099–$5,149
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person: $5,149 solo, $4,099 for two, $3,599 for three, $3,099 for 10+. Same inclusions as above. Odd-numbered parties get one single tent and room by default.
Thomson TreksThe Machame RouteMachame · 9 days
9
From $4,990
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.7 trek days, 9 days total. Dated departures for 2027–2028 show $5,290 and $5,590. Max 15 trekkers. Groups of 2–3 add $500 each. Tips are not included. Whether park fees are included was not stated on the pages read.
Thomson TreksThe Umbwe RouteUmbwe · 8 days
8
Not published, ask
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.6 trek days, 8 days total. Tips extra. The route page shows no price, and Thomson's dates and prices page lists no Umbwe departures.
Thomson TreksWestern ApproachWestern Approach (Thomson's own route name) · 12 days
12
From $6,790
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.12 days total including the days before and after the trek. The homepage gives the trek as 9 days. Listed under western routes here because of its name; the start gate was not confirmed.
Thomson TreksThe Grand TraverseGrand Traverse (Thomson's Northern Circuit itinerary) · 12 days
12
From $9,190
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.10 trek days, 12 days total. Thomson claims a 98% summit rate on this route. Max 10 climbers.
Tusker TrailKilimanjaro Climb – Lemosho RouteLemosho · 12 days
12
$6,490
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.12-day trip, 9 days on the mountain. Includes meals, accommodation, land transfers, guides, crew and gear setup. A Full Moon Lemosho is 11 days for $4,875. Whether park fees and tips are included was not confirmed.
Tusker TrailKilimanjaro Machame RouteMachame · 9 days
9
$4,510
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.7 days on the trail plus 2 nights in Moshi. An older Tusker page shows $3,180.
Tusker TrailKilimanjaro – Marangu Route (huts)Marangu · 8 days
8
$3,560
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.8 days, staying in mountain huts. From Tusker's route comparison. An older page shows $2,790.
Team KilimanjaroLemosho / TK Lemosho, 8 days (Advantage)Lemosho · 2026–27 price · 8 days
8
$2,887–$3,651
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person: $2,887 in a group of 8, $3,169 for two or solo joining a group, $3,651 private solo. All park fees included. Its tipping guide says $200–$300 per climber in a group of 8 on a 6-day Machame, more in small groups. The prices page says crew tips usually run $300–$500 per climber. The top 'Hemingway' VIP tier starts at $7,311.
Team KilimanjaroMachame, 7 days (Advantage)Machame · 2026–27 price · 7 days
7
$2,523–$3,196
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person: $2,523 in a group of 8, $2,767 for two, $3,196 private solo. All park fees included. A cheaper 'Superlite' tier starts at $1,302, route not specified.
Team KilimanjaroTK Rongai, 7 daysRongai (Team Kilimanjaro variant) · 2026–27 price · 7 days
7
$2,565–$3,329
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person: $2,565 in a group of 8, $2,842 for two, $3,329 private solo. The homepage says 'from $2,240', which doesn't match the table. The series (Advantage or Excel) is not labelled for this row.
Team KilimanjaroUmbwe, 7 daysUmbwe · 2026–27 price · 7 days
7
$2,531–$3,191
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person: $2,531 in a group of 8, $2,772 for two, $3,191 private solo. The higher Excel series is $2,846–$3,603.
Team KilimanjaroMarangu, 6 daysMarangu · 2026–27 price · 6 days
6
$2,184–$2,810
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person: $2,184 in a group of 8, $2,410 for two, $2,810 private solo.
Climbing Kilimanjaro (climbing-kilimanjaro.com)Marangu, 6 days (group)Marangu · 2026 price · 6 days
6
$2,760
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Park fees and rescue service are prepaid. The only extras are hotel dinners before and after and crew tips, which it calls compulsory and estimates at $350–$400 per hiker. Flights excluded. Other pages show $2,790 and a full-moon date at $2,450.
Climbing Kilimanjaro (climbing-kilimanjaro.com)Machame, 7 days (group)Machame · 2026 price · 7 days
7
$2,800
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Same inclusions as above. Tips of $350–$400 per hiker are extra.
Climbing Kilimanjaro (climbing-kilimanjaro.com)Rongai, 7 days (group)Rongai · 2026 price · 7 days
7
$2,850
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Same inclusions as above. A 7-day Lemosho is also $2,850.
Climbing Kilimanjaro (climbing-kilimanjaro.com)Lemosho, 8 days (group)Lemosho · 2026 price · 8 days
8
$2,980
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Same inclusions as above.
Climbing Kilimanjaro (climbing-kilimanjaro.com)Northern Circuit, 9 days (group)Northern Circuit · 2026 price · 9 days
9
$3,405
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Same inclusions as above. The longest group climb it sells.
Zara Tanzania Adventures (Zara Tours)Marangu, 6 days (group departure)Marangu · 2026 price · 6 days
6
$2,059
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Fixed-date group price. Zara's 2026–27 private price page lists Marangu at $2,022 per person (2–5 people, 5 days on the mountain) and $2,240 solo. Suggested tips: about $200 per hiker for a 6-day trek.
Zara Tanzania Adventures (Zara Tours)Machame, 7 days (group departure)Machame · 2026 price · 7 days
7
$2,738
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Fixed-date group price. A 6-day group Machame is $2,369. The 2026–27 private page lists $2,544 for 6 days. An undated package page shows $2,784 for 7 days.
Zara Tanzania Adventures (Zara Tours)Lemosho, 8 days (group departure)Lemosho · 2026 price · 8 days
8
$2,251–$3,263
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Zara's pages disagree: $2,251 on the group list and homepage, $3,263 on another group listing. The $3,263 listing includes 2 nights at Springlands Hotel, park, camping and rescue fees, tents, airport transfers and mountain meals. It excludes tips, sleeping bags, oxygen, visas, insurance and flights.
Zara Tanzania Adventures (Zara Tours)Rongai (private package)Rongai · 2026–2027 price
—
$2,613 + $120 group transport
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person, double or triple occupancy; $76 single supplement. Length was not clear on the price page. An undated page shows 6-day Rongai at $2,525.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 22, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices are in each company’s own currency; sorting by price uses rough exchange rates. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Kilimanjaro yourself

Kilimanjaro National Park only lets you climb with a licensed guide through a registered operator, so there's no unguided option. What you can choose is the route, the number of days and the company, which is what the table above compares.

Route, history and conditions for Kilimanjaro →

Read this before you pay a deposit

Tanzanian operators and US outfitters sell the same routes at very different prices. A 7-day Machame costs $2,523 with Team Kilimanjaro (group of 8), $2,738 with Zara's group and $2,800 with Climbing Kilimanjaro. US outfitters start at $5,700 climb only (Madison), and RMI is $7,600. The US price adds Western logistics and often a safari, not a different mountain.

Add tips to every quote. No price here includes them, and the guidance ranges widely: $175–$225 for 7 days (Ultimate Kilimanjaro, citing KPAP), $250–$350 (Alpine Ascents), $300–$500 (Team Kilimanjaro) and $350–$400, which Climbing Kilimanjaro calls 'compulsory'.

Pay for days, not a route name. At the same company, going from the shortest Marangu to an 8–9 day route costs a few hundred dollars: Team Kilimanjaro $2,184 (6 days) vs $2,887 (8-day Lemosho), and Climbing Kilimanjaro $2,760 vs $3,405 (9-day Northern Circuit). Park fees are charged per day, so the cheapest quote is usually the shortest one.

Check that park fees are in the price. Team Kilimanjaro, Ultimate Kilimanjaro, Climbing Kilimanjaro, Intrepid, Exodus, RMI and Mountain Madness say they are. Thomson and Tusker didn't say on the pages we read, so ask before you compare them.

Refund rules split by company. Team Kilimanjaro refunds everything but a $150 deposit up to 29 days out. Thomson and Climbing Kilimanjaro keep 100% inside 45 days. Alpine Ascents refunds nothing inside 89 days and RMI nothing inside 120. Buy cancellation insurance with the US outfitters.

If porter welfare matters to you, check KPAP's current partner list yourself. Thomson calls itself a founding member and Ultimate Kilimanjaro says it is a member, but KPAP warns that some companies use its name without belonging.

The companies

Alpine Ascents International

Based
Seattle, WA, USA
Programs
2
Deposit
$700 at registration, which includes a $300 nonrefundable registration fee. Balance due 120 days before the start. Reservation changes cost $250.
Refunds
Cancel 120+ days out: full refund less the registration fee. 90–119 days: 50% less the registration fee. 89 days or closer: no refund. Written requests only.
Private
Private Kilimanjaro climbs are sold. The private page gives a sample of $3,800 per person for a climb-only Machame with local guides, priced by group size.
Visit Alpine Ascents ↗

Policy from: alpineascents.com, alpineascents.com, alpineascents.com

Mountain Madness

Based
Seattle, WA, USA
Programs
2
Refunds
International trips: deposit refunded less the registration fee if you cancel 121+ days before departure; no refunds at 120 days or less. Written notice required.
Private
No fixed departures listed: 'Custom Dates Available — Contact Us.' Single-room supplement $600–$1,200 depending on package.
Visit Mountain Madness ↗

Policy from: mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com

RMI Expeditions

Based
Ashford, WA, USA
Programs
2
Deposit
$1,500 per person, non-refundable and non-transferable. Balance due 120 days before the program starts.
Refunds
Cancel 120+ days out: you lose the deposit. Under 120 days: no refund or credit, and no exceptions. No refund for leaving early or not starting. If RMI cancels, you get back what you paid RMI minus anything already paid to local outfitters.
Contact
1-888-892-5462
Visit RMI ↗

Policy from: rmiguides.com, rmiguides.com

Madison Mountaineering

Based
Seattle, WA, USA
Programs
1
Deposit
$2,250.
Private
The listed price assumes a minimum group of 4; smaller groups are asked to inquire.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Madison ↗

Policy from: madisonmountaineering.com

Intrepid Travel

Based
Melbourne, Australia
Programs
2
Age
Some listings give a minimum age of 15.
Private
Group trips of 1 to 12 people.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Intrepid ↗

Policy from: intrepidtravel.com, intrepidtravel.com

G Adventures

Based
Toronto, Canada
Programs
4
Refunds
Not found for Kilimanjaro. A G Adventures trip page notes the park gives no refund for unused days once fees are paid.
Age
12+. Under-18s must travel with an adult (Lemosho page).
Private
Group trips, max 12 (average 10) on the Lemosho trek.
Visit G Adventures ↗

Policy from: gadventures.com, gadventures.com

Exodus Adventure Travels

Based
London, UK
Programs
2
Deposit
Set per departure (e.g. £973 on a £3,895 Lemosho date). Balance due at least 120 days before departure.
Refunds
Before the balance is due, the deposit is non-refundable (Exodus can usually hold it for a future trip). After that, a sliding scale up to 100%. Cancel in writing. The exact percentages could not be read reliably.
Visit Exodus ↗

Policy from: exodus.co.uk, exodus.co.uk

Ultimate Kilimanjaro

Programs
4
Deposit
The deposit is non-refundable (amount not stated on the page read). Comprehensive travel insurance is required.
Refunds
Balance payments are only partly refundable. The schedule was not published on the page read, which is several years old.
Private
Private climbs on any route, any dates, any group size. The per-person price falls with party size (e.g. 8-day Lemosho $5,149 solo, $4,099 each for two). Group climbs cap at 14 and are guaranteed to run. Single tent $299 ($350 within 60 days).
Visit Ultimate Kilimanjaro ↗

Policy from: ultimatekilimanjaro.com, ultimatekilimanjaro.com, ultimatekilimanjaro.com, ultimatekilimanjaro.com

Thomson Treks

Programs
4
Deposit
20% per person, non-refundable. Trip extensions need a separate 20% deposit.
Refunds
Cancel in writing. 91+ days out: you lose the deposit. 61–90 days: 50% of the package. 46–60 days: 65%. 45 days or fewer: 100%. No partial refunds for unused meals, hotels or transfers.
Private
Groups of 2–3 pay a $500 per person small-group supplement. Solo departures are not guaranteed. Machame max 15 (typically 10–12). Typically 1 guide per 2–3 climbers.
Visit Thomson ↗

Policy from: thomsontreks.com, thomsontreks.com, thomsontreks.com

Tusker Trail

Programs
3
Deposit
$1,000 per person at booking. Final payment for Kilimanjaro due 90 days before departure.
Refunds
Cancellation fees are worked out from the date of your first notice, but the fee schedule was not found. Tusker offers a rain-check that moves your deposits to a new date, at the price then in force.
Private
All Kilimanjaro departures are guaranteed, even for 1 climber, though a solo surcharge may apply. Most climbs have 4–10 trekkers. Private climbs are sold.
Visit Tusker ↗

Policy from: tusker.com, tusker.com

Team Kilimanjaro

Since
2004 · Arusha, Tanzania
Programs
5
Deposit
$150 per person per trip, non-refundable (paid on to hotels and transport), plus any extras. If you change dates, everything paid moves with you.
Refunds
More than 29 days' notice: full refund less the deposit. Refunds then step down to 75%, 50% and 25% (less the deposit) as the start nears. 48 hours or less: nothing back.
Private
Scheduled groups are capped at 8, and a solo climber joining one pays the 2-person rate. Private solo climbs cost more. Lower rates for East African citizens and Tanzanian residents.
Contact
info@teamkilimanjaro.com
Visit Team Kilimanjaro ↗

Policy from: teamkilimanjaro.com, cdn.teamkilimanjaro.com, teamkilimanjaro.com, teamkilimanjaro.com

Climbing Kilimanjaro (climbing-kilimanjaro.com)

Since
2009 · Tanzania
Programs
5
Deposit
30% at booking. Final payment 30–90 days before departure.
Refunds
91+ days out: you lose the deposit. 61–90 days: 50%. 46–60 days: 65%. 45 days or less: 100%. Hotel or airline fees caused by your cancellation may be added. (The terms page is about 2½ years old.)
Visit Climbing Kilimanjaro ↗

Policy from: climbing-kilimanjaro.com, climbing-kilimanjaro.com, climbing-kilimanjaro.com

Zara Tanzania Adventures (Zara Tours)

Based
Moshi, Tanzania
Programs
4
Refunds
Cancel 30+ days before departure and Zara keeps 20% of the reservation. The terms for shorter notice could not be read.
Private
Private packages priced per person for double or triple occupancy; $76 single supplement. Solo Marangu $2,240.
Visit Zara ↗

Policy from: zaratours.com, zaratours.com, zaratours.com

Get an email when bookings open

Tanzania National Parks sets its tariffs by fiscal year (July 1 to June 30), and operators reprice when park fees change. Get an email when we see new prices or 2027 dates.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Moshi, Tanzania. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Kilimanjaro on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources