The Grossglockner

Guided climbs · The Grossglockner, 3,798 m

Guided Grossglockner climbs, compared

Every guided Grossglockner program we could find from the Kals and Heiligenblut guide offices, Austrian and German mountain schools and a UK ski-touring company. Rope size decides your price more than the office you book.

9companies compared, 27 programs
€330cheapest published price, per person
2–7 daystrip length
3 per guidemax on the normal route (2 recommended late July–August)

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 27 ·
Bergführer Kals (Kalser Berg- und Schiführerverein)Grossglockner Normal Route with night at Erzherzog-Johann-HütteNormal route (Ködnitzkees, Adlersruhe) · 2 days
2
€700 (1) / €450 pp (2)
Experience neededSure-footed, fit for a long glacier and scrambling day; operator does not set a formal grade.Max 3 guests per guide; office recommends max 2 from late July to late August. IFMGA guide, rental harness/helmet/crampons, Glockner certificate and summit schnapps included; hut and meals extra.
Bergführer Kals (Kalser Berg- und Schiführerverein)Grossglockner Normal Route from the StüdlhütteNormal route (Ködnitzkees, Adlersruhe) · 2 days
2
€720 (1) / €460 pp (2)
Experience neededSure-footed and fit; operator does not set a formal grade.Night at Stüdlhütte (2,802 m), early start across the Ködnitzkees. Max 3 per guide. IFMGA guide, rental harness/helmet/crampons, Glockner certificate and summit schnapps included; hut and meals extra.
Bergführer Kals (Kalser Berg- und Schiführerverein)Glacier Course & Grossglockner Normal RouteNormal route · 2 days
2
€1,125 (1) / €655 pp (2) / €460 pp (3)
Experience neededFor climbers without glacier experience.Glacier course (crampon technique, crevasse rescue) from the Stüdlhütte, then the normal route. IFMGA guide, rental harness/helmet/crampons, Glockner certificate and summit schnapps included; hut and meals extra.
Bergführer Kals (Kalser Berg- und Schiführerverein)Climbing Course & Grossglockner Normal RouteNormal route
—
€1,125 (1) / €655 pp (2) / €460 pp (3)
Experience neededBeginners welcome; good fitness.Beginner climbing course in the Lucknerhaus climbing garden; next day you walk alone to the Stüdlhütte and meet the guide 12:00–13:30, then summit. Day count not stated.
Bergführer Kals (Kalser Berg- und Schiführerverein)Grossglockner Stüdlgrat with mountain guideStüdlgrat · 2 days
2
€750 (1) / €480 pp (2)
Experience neededConfident on exposed rock (grade III, fixed pitons) in crampons; operator gives no formal prerequisite list.Max 2 per guide. Rental gear, summit certificate and schnapps included; hut extra.
Bergführer Kals (Kalser Berg- und Schiführerverein)Glacier Course & Grossglockner StüdlgratStüdlgrat · 2 days
2
€1,180 (1) / €685 pp (2)
Experience neededRock climbing ability needed for the ridge.Glacier course on the Teischnitzkees, then the ridge.
Bergführer Kals (Kalser Berg- und Schiführerverein)Climbing Course & Grossglockner StüdlgratStüdlgrat · 3 days
3
€1,150 (1) / €670 pp (2)
Experience neededAmbitious beginners; very good fitness.Billed as for 'ambitious beginners'. Climbing shoes included in rental gear.
Bergführer Kals (Kalser Berg- und Schiführerverein)Grossglockner Stüdlgrat (winter)Stüdlgrat
—
€670 (1) / €400 pp (2)
Experience neededWinter alpine experience; day count not stated.Winter version; crampons, harness and helmet included.
Bergführer Kals (Kalser Berg- und Schiführerverein)Traverse of the Glockner group incl. GrossglocknerGlockner group traverse
—
from €890
Experience neededNot stated in search excerpt.Multi-summit traverse; length not given in what we could see.
Bergführer Heiligenblut (Grossglockner Bergführer)Weg der Erstbesteiger (normal route from Heiligenblut)Heiligenblut normal route (Salmhütte, Hohenwartscharte, Adlersruhe) · 2 days
2
€720 (1) / €460 pp (2)
Experience neededGlacier walking and scrambling; not formally graded by the office.From the Glocknerhaus via Salmhütte and Erzherzog-Johann-Hütte. Guide's hut costs (€45, split between guests) and your half board extra. Max 2 per guide. Mid-June to early October.
Bergführer Heiligenblut (Grossglockner Bergführer)Relax 'All Inclusive'Heiligenblut normal route via Salmhütte · 2 days
2
€720 (1) / €460 pp (2)
Experience neededAs normal route.Slower version starting at the Salmhütte; 2 nights half board at the Salmhütte and travel are extra (despite the name).
Bergführer Heiligenblut (Grossglockner Bergführer)Alter Kalser WegOld Kals route
—
€720 (1) / €460 pp (2)
Experience neededNot stated in search excerpt.Starts from Kals. Half board and food extra.
Bergführer Heiligenblut (Grossglockner Bergführer)StüdlgratStüdlgrat · 2 days
2
€750 (1) / €480 pp (2)
Experience neededRock climbing on exposed ridge.From the Lucknerhaus (1,918 m) via the Stüdlhütte. Guide's hut costs and board extra.
Bergführer Heiligenblut (Grossglockner Bergführer)Nord-Süd (Meletzkigrat up, Stüdlgrat)Meletzkigrat + Stüdlgrat
—
€1,120 (1) / €680 pp (2)
Experience neededExperienced alpine climbers.Combines the Meletzki ridge and the Stüdlgrat.
Bergführer Heiligenblut (Grossglockner Bergführer)Grossglockner IntegralIntegral · 3 days
3
€2,080 (1 person)
Experience neededExperienced alpine climbers.Three-day integral of the Glockner ridges. Only the solo price appeared in search.
Alpinschule GarmischGrossglockner via the Stüdlgrat with mountain guideStüdlgrat · 2 days
2
€699 pp (2) / €1,200 (1)
Experience neededRock climbing experience on exposed ridges.2 participants per guide. Stüdlhütte half board approx. €70 extra.
Alpinschule GarmischAlpine glacier course with ascent of the GrossglocknerNormal route · 2026 price · 4 days
4
€899
Experience neededSome alpine experience; school calls the ascent relatively demanding.3 days of training then the summit; 3 nights half board at the Stüdlhütte included. Group of 5–6. 2026 date 24–27 June listed.
Alpine Welten (Bergsteigerschule Watzmann)Guided Grossglockner normal routeNormal route · 2027 price · 2 days
2
from €459 pp (2027 dates listed at €479)
Experience neededNot stated in search excerpt.2027 departures from June; the operator guarantees a date from 3 participants.
Alpine Welten (Bergsteigerschule Watzmann)Stüdlgrat – Top of AustriaStüdlgrat · 2026 price · 2 days
2
€689 pp
Experience neededNot stated in search excerpt.Night at the Stüdlhütte. 2026 dates June–October; some guaranteed from 2 participants.
BMS BergschuleGrossglockner normal route with mountain guideNormal route · 2 days
2
€459 pp
Experience neededNot stated in search excerpt.Two guide days. Group 5–8 per trip. Rental gear available; travel, parking, hut and meals extra.
BMS BergschuleGrossglockner via the StüdlgratStüdlgrat · 2026 price · 2 days
2
€669 pp
Experience neededNot stated in search excerpt.Dates from 12 September 2026. Hut, toll road and travel extra. Group size stated as 5–8 and as min/max 2 on the same page.
Alpinschule KoppGrossglockner 3,798 m with mountain guideNormal route from the Stüdlhütte · 2 days
2
€980 (1) / €580 pp (2) / €440 pp (3)
Experience neededNot stated in search excerpt.1.5 days from the Stüdlhütte, 3 per guide. Prices follow the Austrian guides' tariff.
Alpinschule KoppGrossglockner Stüdlgrat with mountain guideStüdlgrat · 2 days
2
€990 (1) / €590 pp (2)
Experience neededNot stated in search excerpt.Same page as the normal route; school says the ridge is only slightly harder and recommends it.
Explore-Share (guide marketplace)Climbing Großglockner with a guide (Andreas Gassner)Normal route · 2 days
2
from €400 pp (3 climbers)
Experience neededSome mountaineering experience.Marketplace listing, intermediate, June–September. Hut, meals and transport extra (half board around €80 per person); €350 surcharge for an extra day.
Explore-Share (guide marketplace)Mt Triglav and Grossglockner 1-week guided climbingTriglav + Grossglockner · 7 days
7
€2,000 pp (2 climbers)
Experience neededNot stated in search excerpt.Slovenia's and Austria's highest in one week, May–October. Inclusions not shown in search.
Mountain TracksAustrian Haute Route ski tourSki tour from Lienz incl. Grossglockner · 6 days
6
Not published, ask
Experience neededSki touring experience.UK company. 6 full guided days, 2 nights B&B in Lienz + 5 nights half board in huts; Grossglockner climbed after the first hut night. Equipment hire, travel to Lienz, 2 dinners and lunches extra. Price not in any search result.
TrakksGuided Grossglockner AscentNormal route · 2023 price · 2 days
2
€330 pp (group of 3)
Experience neededNot stated in search excerpt.From Zell am See. Guide and rental gear included; hut €50 extra incl. meals; transport not included; snowshoes €15. Only 2023 dates (June–September) appeared.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 22, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices are in each company’s own currency; sorting by price uses rough exchange rates. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb The Grossglockner yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
Normalweg via the Stüdlhütte and Erzherzog-Johann-Hütte
Grade
PD, glacier ~35°, UIAA II rock
How long
2 days, with an overnight at the Stüdlhütte or Erzherzog-Johann-Hütte before a pre-dawn summit push
Best season
June-September (July-August most stable)
Permits
No permit or quota system is in force; a hut stay and a certified mountain guide for the glacier sections are strongly recommended rather than mandated.
Start from
Lucknerhaus (Kalser Glocknerstrasse, Ködnitztal), 6,293 ft (1,918 m)
Climb from there
6,168 ft (1,880 m) of ascent
Getting there
Most climbers on the Normalweg start from the Lucknerhaus above Kals, overnighting at the Stüdlhütte before the summit push; Heiligenblut is the main gateway on the opposite side. Nearest airport: Salzburg Airport (SZG) is the closest major airport to the Hohe Tauern region; Innsbruck and Klagenfurt airports are also within reasonable driving range..
Hazards
Crevasses, an exposed fixed-rope traverse near the summit ridge, afternoon thunderstorms, and rockfall on the final scramble.
Gear
Glacier travel kit — crampons, ice axe, harness, and rope; a certified mountain guide is strongly recommended for the glacier crossing and exposed summit ridge.

Sources: erzherzog-johann-huette.at ↗stuedlhuette.at ↗hohetauern.at ↗bergfuehrer-kals.at ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

Kals and Heiligenblut quote almost the same tariff: €700–€720 alone and €450–€460 each for two on the normal route, €750/€480 on the Stüdlgrat. Choose by which side you start from, not by price.

Rope size drives your price more than who you book. A solo climber pays more than double the per-person price of a rope of three, wherever an office shows a three-person price (Kals courses, Kopp).

German schools sell fixed dates at similar money: Alpine Welten from €459 and BMS €459 for the normal route. That's close to a Kals rope of two, with a set schedule and no need to find partners.

Almost no price includes the hut. Budget about €70–80 for half board, plus your guide's hut costs at Heiligenblut. The Stüdlhütte showed no free beds when we checked and asks you to book early.

Kals has the gentlest terms here: no deposit on 1–2 day tours (cash to the guide), free cancellation to 40 days out, and a full refund if the guide cancels. Explore-Share keeps 8% in fees even on a full refund.

We found no UK or US company running a summer guided ascent. Mountain Tracks reaches the summit only on its Austrian Haute Route ski tour, and Jagged Globe's Grossvenediger & Grossglockner ski trip is archived. British buyers book the Austrians or Germans directly.

The companies

Bergführer Kals (Kalser Berg- und Schiführerverein)

Based
Kals am Grossglockner, Austria
Programs
9
Deposit
1- and 2-day tours: paid in cash to your guide, no deposit. 3+ day tours: full amount paid in advance by bank transfer.
Refunds
Free cancellation up to 40 days out; then €50 admin fee to 30 days, 25% from day 29–19, 50% day 18–7, 75% to 2 days, 100% within 24 h. Group per-person prices: you pay the difference if your group shrinks. Fixed-price packages: 100% whenever cancelled. Hut cancellation costs are yours. Guide may cancel up to 7 days out with full refund.
Private
Max 3 guests per guide on the normal route (2 recommended late July–late August); max 2 on the Stüdlgrat. Prices drop per person as the rope fills.
Contact
+43 664 4161289
info@bergfuehrer-kals.at
Visit Bergführer Kals ↗

Policy from: bergfuehrer-kals.at, bergfuehrer-kals.at, bergfuehrer-kals.at

Bergführer Heiligenblut (Grossglockner Bergführer)

Based
Heiligenblut, Austria
Programs
6
Refunds
From 40 days out €50 admin fee; under 30 days 25%; under 20 days 50%; under 7 days 75%; under 24 h 100% of the guide fee. Cancellation insurance recommended.
Private
1–3 participants per guide; max 2 recommended late July–late August.
Visit Bergführer Heiligenblut ↗

Policy from: grossglockner-bergfuehrer.at, grossglockner-bergfuehrer.at, grossglockner-bergfuehrer.at

Alpinschule Garmisch

Based
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Programs
2
Private
Stüdlgrat at 2 per guide; solo price €1,200. Private guiding offered.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Alpinschule Garmisch ↗

Policy from: alpinschule-garmisch.de, alpinschule-garmisch.de

Alpine Welten (Bergsteigerschule Watzmann)

Based
Germany
Programs
2
Deposit
FAQ says no deposit: you pay 3 days before the trip (rule introduced March 2020).
Refunds
Standard trips: 20% up to 30 days before, rising to 90% from day 6 (terms version is several years old). Full refund if cancelled for too few participants.
Visit Alpine Welten ↗

Policy from: alpinewelten.com, alpinewelten.com

BMS Bergschule

Based
Germany
Programs
2

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit BMS Bergschule ↗

Policy from: bms-bergschule.de, bms-bergschule.de

Alpinschule Kopp

Based
Austria
Programs
2
Private
3 per guide on the normal route; solo €980.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Alpinschule Kopp ↗

Policy from: alpinschule-kopp.at

Explore-Share (guide marketplace)

Based
Marketplace (independent IFMGA guides)
Programs
2
Deposit
Terms allow a deposit of up to 25%, balance 45 days before; individual trips vary.
Refunds
100% refund to 60 days out, 75% at 59–30 days, 50% at 29–21 days, none under 21 days, less 3% admin + 5% service fee (+~2.3% card fee). 48-hour free cancellation for bookings made 30+ days ahead. Guide decides weather calls and must offer alternative, postponement or cancellation.
Private
Most listings are private; guides quote max 2 or max 3 climbers per guide.
Visit Explore-Share ↗

Policy from: explore-share.com, explore-share.com, explore-share.com

Mountain Tracks

Based
UK
Programs
1

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Mountain Tracks ↗

Policy from: mountaintracks.co.uk, mountaintracks.co.uk

Trakks

Based
Belgium
Programs
1

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Trakks ↗

Policy from: trakks.be

Get an email when bookings open

The Erzherzog-Johann-Hütte closed for 2026 on 20 September. Get an email when 2027 hut bookings and guided dates open, plus any price changes.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Kals am Grossglockner, Austria. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

The Grossglockner on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources