Ecuador's volcanoes

Guided climbs · Ecuador's volcanoes, 6,263 m

Guided Cotopaxi and Chimborazo climbs, compared

The same two volcanoes cost $1,275 from a Quito outfitter and $4,950 to $6,700 from a US expedition company. The gap buys hotels, haciendas, a longer acclimatization schedule and an English-speaking trip leader. It does not buy a different mountain.

12companies compared, 30 programs
$365cheapest published price, per person
2–16 daystrip length
+$1,125 to +$2,250what US companies charge to add Chimborazo to a Cotopaxi trip

Start here

What kind of trip do you want?

Sort:Showing 30 ·
Madison MountaineeringEcuador VolcanoesCotopaxi and Chimborazo · Nov 2026–Aug 2027 price · 12 days
12
$4,950
Experience neededMadison rates it Medium difficulty.Includes airport pickup, 3-star hotels in Quito, park and climbing permit fees, hut fees and all meals while climbing. Not included: airfare, cancellation and evacuation insurance, airport taxes. Priced for a minimum group of 4. Deposit $1,800.
Madison MountaineeringChimborazo ExpeditionChimborazo · 9 days
9
$3,240
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Minimum group of 4. Deposit $1,000.
Madison MountaineeringCayambe, Cotopaxi & ChimborazoCayambe, Cotopaxi and Chimborazo · 16 days
16
$5,350
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Three-peak version. Minimum group of 4. Deposit $1,900.
Alpine Ascents InternationalVolcanoes of EcuadorCayambe, Cotopaxi and Chimborazo (Antisana if one is closed) · 16 days
16
$5,650 with an Ecuador-based guide / $6,700 with a US-based guide
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Per person, shared room. Same itinerary at both prices; the difference is where your lead guide comes from. Day counts include travel from home.
Alpine Ascents InternationalEcuador ExpressCotopaxi, after smaller acclimatization peaks · Nov 2026 and 2027 departures price · 9 days
9
$3,800
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.One big summit. The price page calls it Ecuador Express, the schedule calls it Cotopaxi Express. First listed departure Nov 7–15, 2026. Per person, shared room.
Mountain MadnessCotopaxi ExpressCotopaxi · 9 days
9
$4,250
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Nine days including travel time. Single room (hotels only) $700 extra. If Cotopaxi is closed for volcanic activity, the team climbs Antisana or the Illinizas.
Mountain MadnessCotopaxi Express + ChimborazoCotopaxi and Chimborazo · 12 days
12
$5,375
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.The Express with a 3-day Chimborazo extension. Includes travel time. Single room (hotels only) $800 extra.
Mountain MadnessEcuador Volcanoes ExpeditionCayambe and Cotopaxi · 11 days
11
$4,950
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Includes travel time. Single supplement $700 for hotels only, or $1,200 including the Tambopaxi lodge.
Mountain MadnessEcuador Volcanoes Expedition + ChimborazoCayambe, Cotopaxi and Chimborazo · 14 days
14
$6,250
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.The 11-day trip plus the 3-day Chimborazo extension. Includes travel time.
RMI ExpeditionsEcuador – Cayambe & CotopaxiCayambe and Cotopaxi · 11 days
11
$4,500
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Deposit $900. No Chimborazo on this trip.
RMI ExpeditionsEcuador – Cotopaxi ExpressCotopaxi · 9 days
9
$3,700 (old listing, ask)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Deposit $900. RMI rates it Intermediate. Includes acclimatization hikes and time in Quito. The program page shows $3,700 but RMI's home page showed $3,900, and the program page looked years old.
RMI ExpeditionsEcuador – Chimborazo SeminarChimborazo
—
$5,800
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Deposit $900. Trip length and any other peaks on the itinerary were not confirmed.
International Mountain GuidesClassic Cayambe & CotopaxiCayambe and Cotopaxi · Nov 5–16, 2026 price · 12 days
12
$4,600 land cost
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Land cost, so international flights are extra. Single supplement $300.
International Mountain GuidesClassic + Chimborazo extensionCayambe, Cotopaxi and Chimborazo · Nov 5–20, 2026 price · 16 days
16
$4,600 + $1,600 extension = $6,200 land cost
Experience neededIMG screens for interest and ability on the extension; no specific prerequisite was published.The Chimborazo extension runs Nov 17–20, 2026 and adds $1,600 to the Classic land cost. IMG offers it to 'the interested and capable climber'.
Climbing the Seven SummitsEcuador Volcanoes Team ClimbNov 5–15, 2026; Jan 23–Feb 4, 2027 price · 11 days
11
$4,495
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Departures in January and November. CTSS's Ecuador page lists Cotopaxi, Cayambe and Chimborazo as its peaks, but Chimborazo is sold as a separate add-on trip, so which summits the base team climb includes was not confirmed. The January 2027 departure runs 13 days.
Climbing the Seven SummitsEcuador Volcanoes + Chimborazo Team ClimbCayambe, Cotopaxi and Chimborazo · Nov 5–17, 2026 and Jan 23–Feb 4, 2027 price
—
$6,495
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.The team climb with Chimborazo added after Cotopaxi and Cayambe.
Climbing the Seven SummitsEcuador Volcanoes Private Climb
—
From $8,495
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Private version of the team climb, on your dates. Peaks and length not confirmed.
Alpenglow ExpeditionsCotopaxi Rapid AscentCotopaxi · Nov 15–19, 2026 price · 5 days
5
$4,250
Experience neededYou must already have been above 16,000 ft.A compressed schedule: you pre-acclimatize at home, and a Hypoxico altitude-tent rental is included. Flights to the start are not.
Alpenglow ExpeditionsCotopaxi Rapid Ascent + ChimborazoCotopaxi and Chimborazo · Nov 15–23, 2026 price · 9 days
9
$4,250 + $2,250 Chimborazo add-on = $6,500
Experience neededYou must already have been above 16,000 ft.The Chimborazo add-on extends the trip to November 23.
American Alpine InstituteEcuador – Cotopaxi Skills ExpeditionCayambe and Cotopaxi · Late 2026 and 2027 departures price · 10 days
10
$4,195
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.A skills-instruction trip as well as a climb. Single supplement $520. Chimborazo is sold as a separate 4-day add-on.
American Alpine InstituteEcuador – Chimborazo ClimbChimborazo · 4 days
4
$1,595
Experience neededDesigned for climbers already acclimatized on the Cotopaxi trip.Four days. Sold as the follow-on to the Cotopaxi Skills Expedition.
Andean TrailsEcuador Volcanoes Climbing ExpeditionNov 1–15 and Nov 15–29, 2026 price · 15 days
15
$2,970 (from Jan 10, 2027: $3,250)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Also priced from £2,231. Group capacity 10. The peaks on the itinerary were not confirmed from the page.
AndeanFaceVolcanoes ExpeditionCotopaxi and Chimborazo · 2026; 2027 departures May–Dec price · 14 days
14
$2,970 per person for 2+ (2026); $3,250 (2027); $5,500 solo
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Single room supplement $550. AndeanFace's own expeditions page describes its programs as 4 to 13 days, which does not match this 14-day listing.
AndeanFaceCotopaxi Trek & ClimbMulti-day trek through Cotopaxi National Park, then the summit · Late 2026 and 2027 departures price · 7 days
7
From $1,820
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.
AndeanFaceClimbing CotopaxiCotopaxi · 2 days
2
Not published
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Two days at 1 guide to 2 climbers. No price on the page we saw.
Ecuador Eco AdventureClimb Cotopaxi and ChimborazoCotopaxi and Chimborazo · 6 days
6
$1,275 (shown reduced from $1,500)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Sold as all-inclusive: certified guides, technical gear, accommodation and all transport.
Ecuador Eco AdventureClimb Cotopaxi (5,897 m)Cotopaxi · 2 days
2
$395 per person (2 climbers, 1 guide); $640 alone
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.The summit push takes about 7 hours. No acclimatization days are included, so you arrive acclimatized or add them.
Ecuador Open ToursClimb Cotopaxi and ChimborazoCotopaxi and Chimborazo · 2026 price
—
$1,215 per person for 2; $1,275 listed; from $1,450 solo
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Join-a-group departures. Listed at $1,275 (shown reduced from $1,600); the same page quotes $1,215 each for 2 people and from $1,450 for a solo climber.
Ecuador Open ToursClimb CotopaxiCotopaxi
—
$365 per person for 2; $590 alone
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Join-a-group climb. Shown reduced from $450.
Ecuador Open ToursClimb Chimborazo High CampChimborazo from high camp
—
$395 per person for 2; $600 alone (higher tier $485 / $725)
Experience neededNot stated. Ask the operator.Two price tiers on the page; what the $485 tier adds was not confirmed.

Copied from each company’s own pages on Oct 22, 2026. Every “See dates” button opens the page we used. Where a page says which season a price is for, we show it. Prices change; the operator’s page wins if it disagrees with this one.

Free · no guide

Climb Ecuador's volcanoes yourself

Everything above is for hiring a guide. If you have the skills, this is what you need to do it on your own, free. Facts come from the summit’s own page on PeakSeeker, with sources.

Normal route
Whymper Route (Normal Route)
Grade
PD
How long
1-2 days from Whymper Hut
Best season
December-January and June-July
Permits
Climbers pay an entry fee for the Chimborazo Fauna Production Reserve and are generally required to climb with a certified local guide.
Start from
Whymper Hut, 16,404 ft (5,000 m)
Climb from there
4,144 ft (1,263 m) of ascent
Getting there
Climbers typically fly into Quito, drive about 3.5-4 hours south to Riobamba, then continue by road into Chimborazo Fauna Production Reserve to the Carrel Hut (4,850 m) or Whymper Hut (5,000 m) trailheads. Nearest airport: Mariscal Sucre International Airport (UIO), Quito.
Hazards
Crevasses, rockfall on the lower approach, altitude sickness, and increasing rockfall/icefall risk as the glacier retreats.
Gear
Standard glacier travel gear (crampons, ice axe, harness, rope) is required above the huts; several days of acclimatization in the Riobamba/Quito area is strongly recommended before a summit attempt.

A mapped way up: Vía normal (F)

Line from OpenStreetMap; profile approximate. Map and GPX download →

Sources: alanarnette.com ↗mountainmadness.com ↗alpineascents.com ↗

Read this before you pay a deposit

Both peaks from a Quito outfitter cost $1,215–$1,275 (Ecuador Open Tours, Ecuador Eco Adventure). The cheapest US-run trip that summits both, Madison's 12 days, is $4,950. The extra $3,600+ buys hotels, meals, airport pickups and a week of planned acclimatization, not a different route.

If you buy local, the short packages assume you arrive acclimatized. A 2-day Cotopaxi climb from $365 has no acclimatization days. Budget your own week of hikes above 4,000 m first, or you are paying for a likely turnaround.

Adding Chimborazo to a Cotopaxi trip costs $1,125 (Mountain Madness Express) to $2,250 (Alpenglow) at US companies. Madison sells both peaks in 12 days for $4,950, $700 more than the Cotopaxi-only trips from Mountain Madness and Alpenglow.

Alpenglow's 5-day Cotopaxi trip costs $4,250, the same as Mountain Madness's 9-day one. You do the missing four days at home in a rented altitude tent, and you need prior experience above 16,000 ft.

At Alpine Ascents the same 16-day, three-peak itinerary costs $1,050 more with a US-based lead guide ($6,700) than with an Ecuador-based one ($5,650).

Andean Trails' 15-day expedition and AndeanFace's 14-day Volcanoes Expedition list identical prices ($2,970, rising to $3,250 in 2027). Compare the itineraries line by line before assuming they are different trips.

The companies

Madison Mountaineering

Programs
3
Deposit
Per program: USD 1,800 for the 12-day trip, USD 1,000 for the 9-day Chimborazo trip, USD 1,900 for the 16-day three-peak trip.
Private
Published prices assume a minimum group of 4.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Madison ↗

Policy from: madisonmountaineering.com

Alpine Ascents International

Based
Seattle, WA
Programs
2
Deposit
$700 at registration, of which $300 is non-refundable. Balance due 120 days before the start. Credit cards carry a 3% surcharge.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Alpine Ascents ↗

Policy from: alpineascents.com, alpineascents.com

Mountain Madness

Based
Seattle, WA
Programs
4
Private
Single rooms: $700 (hotels only) on the Cotopaxi Express, $800 with the Chimborazo extension; on the Volcanoes Expedition $700 for hotels only or $1,200 including Tambopaxi.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Mountain Madness ↗

Policy from: mountainmadness.com, mountainmadness.com

RMI Expeditions

Based
Ashford, WA
Programs
3
Deposit
$900 on each Ecuador program.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit RMI ↗

Policy from: rmiguides.com, rmiguides.com, rmiguides.com

International Mountain Guides

Based
Ashford, WA
Programs
2
Private
Single supplement $300 on the Classic trip.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit IMG ↗

Policy from: mountainguides.com

Climbing the Seven Summits

Programs
3
Private
Private Ecuador climbs are sold separately, starting at $8,495.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit CTSS ↗

Policy from: climbingthesevensummits.com, climbingthesevensummits.com, climbingthesevensummits.com, climbingthesevensummits.com

Alpenglow Expeditions

Programs
2

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Alpenglow ↗

Policy from: alpenglowexpeditions.com

American Alpine Institute

Based
Bellingham, WA
Programs
2
Private
Single supplement $520 on the Cotopaxi Skills Expedition.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit AAI ↗

Policy from: alpineinstitute.com, alpineinstitute.com

Andean Trails

Based
UK
Programs
1
Private
Group capacity 10.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Andean Trails ↗

Policy from: andeantrails.co.uk

AndeanFace

Based
Ecuador
Programs
3
Private
A solo climber pays $5,500 for the 14-day Volcanoes Expedition, against $2,970 each for 2 or more. Single room supplement $550. Its 2-day Cotopaxi climb runs at 1 guide to 2 climbers.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit AndeanFace ↗

Policy from: andeanface.com, andeanface.com, andeanface.com

Ecuador Eco Adventure

Based
Ecuador
Programs
2
Private
Cotopaxi: $640 with a guide to yourself, $395 each with 2 climbers per guide.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Eco Adventure ↗

Policy from: ecuadorecoadventures.com, ecuadorecoadventures.com

Ecuador Open Tours

Based
Ecuador
Programs
3
Private
Prices assume you share a guide with one other climber (it will pair you with a partner). Climbing alone costs more: Cotopaxi $590 instead of $365, Chimborazo High Camp $600 instead of $395, both peaks from $1,450.

Cancellation terms not published where we looked. Get them in writing before you pay.

Visit Open Tours ↗

Policy from: ecuadoropentours.com, ecuadoropentours.com, ecuadoropentours.com

Get an email when bookings open

We’ll email you when next season’s dates and prices are posted.

Before and after the trip

Most programs start in Quito, Ecuador. Lodging is extra on nearly all of them.

Ecuador's volcanoes on PeakSeeker → routes, live summit weather and permits.

More comparisons

How this page makes money: links to Booking.com, Viator and 57hours may earn PeakSeeker a commission if you book. Links to the guide companies themselves don’t, and nobody pays to be listed or to change what we say. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Sources